Six Degrees Of Separation

Six Degrees Of SeparationSix degrees of separation is the theory that everyone and everything is six or fewer steps away, by way of introduction, from any other person in the world, so that a chain of “a friend of a friend” statements can be made to connect any two people in a maximum of six steps. It was originally set out by Frigyes Karinthy in 1929 and popularized by a 1990 play written by John Guare.

Well, if you don’t limit it to a friend of a friend – I am two degrees of separation away from Sarah Palin. So are a lot of people. Boo Sarah.

I discovered in the last month, that I am about four-five degrees away from an introduction to the Kennedys. I’m not holding my breath…

I definitely have a link to Queen Elisabeth. I met the British ambassador – these rowing events are good for something.

And in the same vein, I met Tom Foley who was the US ambassador to Ireland in 2009.

In 2009, Foley married Leslie Fahrenkopf, who was 41 and vice president for global ethics and compliance and an associate general counsel at News Corporation inNew York City at the time of their wedding. From 2003 to 2008, Fahrenkopf had been an associate counsel to President George W. Bush in the Office of White House Counsel. Foley has a son Tom, Jr. (born October 25, 1981) and he and Leslie have boy and girl twins, Grace Quinlan and William Reed (born September 26, 2011).

Foley was arrested twice, once for allegedly running his first wife and son off the road.[25]

Gulp!

I can’t remember whether they were married or not. I think he was just engaged.

So I probably have a hotline to George Bush and John Boehner.

🙂

I’m sure you all have stories to share!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Six Degrees Of Separation

  1. Tumbleweed1 says:

    Oh I have stories alright. But I ain’t sharin’ shit.
    Cheers!

  2. psminidivapa says:

    OK,here are the most famous…

    For Russellsq:
    His college girlfriend was good friends w/ Caroline Kennedy..so 3 -6 degrees with…WOW!
    He used to sit in Willy Nelson’s pick-up in Texas whilst waiting for their respective significant others (after the C. Kennedy girlfriend) to leave work…..some great Willy stories!
    More recently, he ran into Billy Bob Thornton in a hotel whilst he was chaperoning a music dept. trip. Billy Bob enjoyed his company, so they agreed to meet each night after kids firmly ensconced in rooms for nightcap.(which means he is 2/3 degrees from Angie and Brad, as well)

    For me:
    Had dinner with Chita Rivera (and her entire extended family) a number of years ago. She pulled out a cell phone (which was RARE at that time) and called R to wish him happy birthday.So 2-6 degrees of pretty much any Broadway musical actor.
    My former rehearsal pianist at my school had played with Fleetwood Mac for many years, so 3-6 of anyone working w/Fleetwood Mac
    I had breakfast with Mr. Rogers (famous US children’s TV personality) years ago. He was EXACTLY the same in person as he was on his show – one amazing, gentle, peaceful, tolerant man.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      And because I know you, I am only one degree of separation from all of the above!

    • MrsGunka says:

      Willy Nelson let me go ahead in the line at the grocery store when I was in a hurry. Hubs and son had to wait for him to get a “hair cut” at the barber. They didn’t know who he was. Still didn’t after the barber told him. teehee He lived up the road from us when we lived in the mountains. John Hinkley, who shot Ronny Raygun, lived in our town too. I knew his parents who went to our church. Many local TV and sport celebrities lived in our town. People just treated them all the same. Our governor (Hickenlooper) is the great grandson of my Grandpa’s cousin. Guess we are shirttail relatives too…several steps removed! 🙂 Another of his cousins was a Senator from Kansas, but we never talked about him….he was a scoundrel back in the early 1900’s. Pre-dated the ones there now. The governor of Iowa, said the best thing in my in-laws new house was the pine cone wreath I had made for them! 🙂 F-I-L was a State Legislator and they had an open house when they finished building their new home and the Guv came. He had spent several mornings in the old farm house having coffee by the woodstove in the kitchen in the old house! He did say the new house was very nice but he was most impressed by the wreath! She loved to tease me that he liked me more than her new house. 🙂

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    I have moah!
    I know someone who worked with Ben Carson. Yes – he is an idiot.
    My next door neighbour’s brother won a world championship in rowing. He moved to the US for a while and rowed with Grace Kelly’s brother. Even then her children were a handful.
    Another rower (hubby’s friend), he is American, knows the Clintons, Bush and John Kerry.

  4. irishgirl999 says:

    I’m done now. Hubby arrived back from rowing and took me out to lunch. Italian and one bottle of red wine. I’m going to take the dog for a walk and then have a little nap!

  5. stillregina says:

    I know Kevin Whately (Lewis from the inspector Morse TV series). He’s the brother of one of my best friends.

Leave a comment