Pictures And Strippers

I have no new pearls of wisdom to impart. I’m still pissed about the mid-terms.

CIMG0815Little Italy in the LES, NYC.

CIMG1016A fabulous little place in Miami Beach

_MG_0374

Sunrise in Narabeen, Australia.

_MG_0243

A tiny town in NSW, Australia.

I have also undertaken the task of renewing my wooden floor in the hallway. I took out my hand sander, followed the youtube directions that I googled, sanded like crazy and wasn’t too happy with the results. Then I took to a chemical varnish stripper. 😉

Ok, so it is a hallway and a path to every necessity- bathroom, kitchen, bedrooms all have to be approached by this route. I fecking warned everyone.

Son came down the stairs yesterday and I heard a big thud, followed by *JHC* and a few groans. I found him in the middle of the paint stripper (that you are warned to keep away from.)  He was pissed that he hadn’t managed to break an arm because he had an exam today.

Earlier, hubby came in. I pointed to the stripper spots on the floor and I warned him! Of course he forgot and came bounding out of my lovely dining room that he has now turned into an office. Grrrrrrrr…. He nearly went flying, but managed to hold his balance. Damn.

My family think that my renovations are a dangerous practice. Perhaps I am trying to get rid of the feckers? 🙂

I have a horrid feeling that I should have hired the pros.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pictures And Strippers

  1. Dusty says:

    LOL! Been there….good luck w /the renovations!

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I have the second coat of varnish on and it is looking good!!!! I am very pleased. I have to give it a light sand in the morning, and then the final coat of varnish. I will post before and after pics soon.

  2. I bow to you DYI-ness!

  3. psminidivapa says:

    DYI projects usually result in a visit to the Emergency Room (A&E) in our house. When we first bought our house, R had a coffee mug at ER because he had so many visits….hammer hitting hand and breaking bone whilst putting in basement stairs, drilling finger to the wall installing ceiling, cutting thumb tendon..ok, that was just a stupid mis-use of home improvement tool. Anyway, my thought is – if you want an omelette, you have got to break some eggs!
    Hugs to you and crack-shot daughter.

  4. tiny small point — locals would say “on” the lower east side…

Leave a comment