Tourism In The Age Of Trump

I have run out of my favourite teabags, but that is neither here nor there. I just thought I’d mention it as I swallow the cheap sludge from the local shop.

fang

Well, between posting pic of the shitgibbon above and mentioning the tea, I have taken Ali for her walk and bought some decent stuff.

Anyway, I digress. It occurred to me over the last few days that the exceptional US of A might experience a bit of a backlash as far as tourism is concerned – what with Muslim bans and what have you. Like that imbecile above…

I myself am a fervent lover of the USA. I have made the bestest friends in your beautiful country since that ugly Palin episode. Little did I think that it would get worser and worser. Indulge me in my Palinisms.

I have spent time and money traversing the various corners of the US meeting my wonderful progressive friends and I have loved every minute of it.

But now, I’m struck with a horrible sense of something that is quite nasty. Do I want to go there again? I do…but. I just don’t feel good about travelling to a country that seems to be regressing.

Never mind that I am broke and don’t have much of a choice anyway. Hubby said to me recently – NO MORE HOLIDAYS. I guess I did overdo it there for a few years. I am now limited to Ryanair and Europe. Amsterdam is marvellous by the way.

However, if I feel like this, what do other tourists feel?

Courtesy of Crooks and Liars:

Source: Frommer’s

Though they may differ as to the wisdom of the move, the travel press and most travel experts are of one mind: They are currently drawing attention to an unintended consequence of the Trump-led efforts to stop many Muslims from coming to the U.S., pointing to a sharp drop in foreign tourism to our nation that imperils jobs and touristic income.

It’s known as the “Trump Slump.” And I know of no reputable travel publication to deny it.

Thus, the prestigious Travel Weekly magazine (as close to an “official” travel publication as they come) has set the decline in foreign tourism at 6.8%. And the fall-off is not limited to Muslim travelers, but also extends to all incoming foreign tourists. Apparently, an attack on one group of tourists is regarded as an assault on all.

That’s all I wanted to say. I’m going to light the fire and watch rugby for the afternoon.  Oh, did I mention that we have gotten rid of all the wee Irish folk this weekend. They are skiing in Italy and hubby and I are going out for lunch soon.

Yeehaw.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tourism In The Age Of Trump

  1. grannyj1 says:

    I was just reading about the wonderful children’s author and educator, Mem Fox who was detained for over 2 hours in LAX. Seems they didn’t like her visa. She is Australian and was speaking at a literary conference. She was sobbing by the time she was released. She says she will never return. She has been there over 100 times. I have heard this amazing woman speak. I take this insult very personally. And I am heartbroken for all of the people who have to endure this kind of treatment.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I read about her last night and was furious.

    • Wow! This was my introduction to Mem Fox back in the day. http://memfox.com/books/wilfrid-gordon-mcdonald-partridge/ I just had a conversation today with Latina coworkers that have significant worries regarding their hard working, honest, loyal, longtime in the US family members. It’s heartbreaking to know that there’s nothing I can say – – as the unpredictable is upon us. Our local law enforcement has been very vocal about that being involved in immigration stops, etc. and I believe that they are sincere, since they are diverse themselves. Just unbelievable. I would think twice about travelling to a country that’s behaving as we are.

      • Yikes mistyped above ! My law enforcement is NOT getting involved. (Aging brain cells where brain thinks one word and fingers type something altogether different !)

  2. crow says:

    The whole Trump thing is like deja vu all over again. We went through all of this in the Palin era. The similarities are striking. They both speak gibberish, they both demonize the press for treating them unfairly (lamestream media is now fake news), neither of them have constituents – they have fans. They are both hopelessly unqualified for political office – they can campaign but they can’t govern. Neither of them can relate to the real world and live life as if it’s a reality show. Both of them bluffed their way past their level of incompetence. They are both incurious and stupid. Both are awful parents. Don’t be deceived by Trump’s kids – like the Palins, they too are children of a narcissistic sociopath and have similar emotional disorders. None of them are very smart but the Trumps have been able to bluff their way farther because they had money. Trumps are just Palins in designer clothes. The nightmare that everyone feared would happen if McCain died and Palin made it into the White House has come true with Donald Trump.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      That last sentence is so true.

      • Scarsdale says:

        Before President Bannon latched on to tRump, he was working to get PayMe into the WH. He made a stupid movie all about her called “The Undefeated” and had it open in several theaters. It bombed!! Guess Putin was desperate for a puppet when he helped get tRump into the WH. Maybe he thought Donald was easier to control than PayME? Bannon is so busy, he looks as though he has no time to take a shower.

  3. lindak1961 says:

    Who knew that making America a laughingstock and a place no one wants to visit would make us great again?

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I still hold out hope Linda. I know you intelligent people outnumber the morons.

      And I don’t think I can stay away from NYC for more than a year.

      And I need to go to Miami soon. Just don’t tell hubby.

  4. Moles says:

    What I would have loved is if the entire press corps who were allowed in to Spicer’s briefing all walked out in protest for those who were banned. How would the WH look with no press coverage at all except for the Orange U Tan’s insane tweets?

  5. CC ... says:

    Tea? From here? Which one … inquiring minds want to know. 🙂

  6. Scarsdale says:

    The tRump boys, Beavis and Butthead are seeking employees for the tRump vineyards. They requested visas for 12 foreign workers, capable of working 11 or 12 hour days, stooped over for $11 an hour!! These must be the jobs the orange loofa-faced shitgibbon promised.

Leave a Reply

