Just Personal Shit

What a week! It started off with an Atlanta gentleman claiming that he was related to us. This was quite a shock to my 89 year old mother.

So, I like a mystery (Palin emails) and got stuck in. And waded and waded. DNA tests are the only answer. I swear I have gone through all the shipping lists from 1903 and I am fecking exhausted.

In the midst of our maybe new found relations, I was busy trying to calm down daughter. Her Leaving Cert results are out….

For anyone who is not Irish, Β this is a big fucking deal.

I met her in a secluded place and she sat in the car beside me. She was already sobbing and I asked her if she had opened the envelope.

She turned on me and told me not to look at her.

This is not the best time to tell your daughter to cop herself on.

I pretended not to watch as she valiantly tried to tear the envelope open.

She tore little bits of the envelope off. It was all I could do not to tear it off her.

I have taught her how to make banana bread, next on the list is how to open an envelope.

Well she finally read her results.

That girl done good.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Just Personal Shit

  1. 40Watt says:

    🍾 Many congratulations to the girl.

  2. Awwwww…. what sweetness that the daughter needs your Mumski in life’s important moments!

    • irishgirl999 says:

      Funny that you say that. My mum needed me too this week. I also baked her banana bread and we had great fun trying to sort out our ancestry. I also took the opportunity to do a photo blitz of my mum. I did one years ago about my father and my sister has been pestering me to do one for mum. I finally fecking did it!

      Darling daughter gets her college offer tomorrow along with the rest of the country. She really wants to go to Trinity College. Don’t even ask me what she wants to do. It is a mixture between Spanish/politics/business/history.

      I wish I could fast forward to tomorrow.

      • lindak1961 says:

        Good luck – I hope that she gets what she wants, and that it works out for her.

      • Seems to me that dear daughter’s mix of interests is a wonderful base for a future global career. Kudos to her pursuit of 2nd language fluency. My final Spanish class was in college and I re-picked it up 40+ years later. It was still there, hiding in my big toe, but learning as an older adult is so much more difficult. I give a triple thumbs up to a ‘study abroad’ immersion experience when you’re young. Funny for me is that I hated verb conjugation when I was an early learner – – – sadly that hasn’t changed. My Hispanic co-workers are very patient with me and my slaughtering of their native tongue.

        Fun to hear of your time with your Mom. Brings back memories of the last few years with my mom when we also sorted through ancestry stuff and had regular grocery shopping outings. That’s really precious time that I now treasure, particularly when I see other daughters shopping with their mothers. Right now is the middle of the same time period of my mom’s short 3 month cancer bout. That was a difficult time, but it contained as many wonderful moments as it did difficult ones – – the sweet and funny memories from those times are the ones that remain 10 years later.

  3. ProfessorCanine says:

  4. lindak1961 says:

    Congrats to your daughter!

  5. stillregina says:

    Well done, Irishdaughter! πŸ‘

  6. irishgirl999 says:

    Thank you all so much for the congratulations and the good wishes. Well, she was offered a place in Trinity this morning. She will be studying Spanish and History! She will have to study for a year abroad at some stage so it sounds fascinating. We are very happy here. πŸ™‚

  7. pvaz says:

    Congrats to the ‘junior freshmen’ the girl.

Leave a Reply

