The Audacity Of Hope

I sat down and watched this tonight.  I was blown away by your president’s speech.

Back in 2008, although I had visited the US twice before, I had a really slanted view of Americans. I (wrongly) saw them as a bunch of loud-mouthed, obese, greedy people. Now I know how wrong I was. What I saw at the time were Republicans. They were not true Americans.

Through Mudflats and Palingates and Politicalgates  and even my own blog, I have made so many friends. I’m glad I didn’t listen to my kids when they told me to not make friends on the internet because the very people I gravitated towards were the concerned American citizens that President Obama was talking about last night.

It is 2016 now. I have been to France, England and the US  a number of times to see my buddies.

My husband asked me recently why I kept going back. He likes to hike up mountains in France and Africa and couldn’t understand my love affair with the the US.

My answer to him – it is the people.

You go America!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Audacity Of Hope

  1. ProfessorCanine says:

  2. irishgirl999 says:

    Chances are you won’t like my blog anymore.

  3. Badgerwoman says:

    Aw. And we like you too. I’ve been lurking here for a while, enjoying your blog. Next time you come to the U.S. please come visit us in Wisconsin. We’re not quite a smoking ruin yet, no thanks to Scott Walker. It’s actually a pretty nice place to relax, especially “up north.” And ain’t no Bloody Marys like supper club Bloody Marys.

Leave a Reply

