RIP Muhammad Ali

Cathal O’Shannon, an Irish journalist conducted a very famous interview with Ali. This was all I could find on youtube.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to RIP Muhammad Ali

  1. 40Watt says:

    Thank you for that wonderful clip of the Greatest in Ireland.

  2. 40Watt says:

    One of Ali’s last public statements titled “Presidential Candidates Proposing to Ban Muslim Immigration to the United States”:

    I am a Muslim and there is nothing Islamic about killing innocent people in Paris, San Bernardino, or anywhere else in the world. True Muslims know that the ruthless violence of so called Islamic Jihadists goes against the very tenets of our religion.

    We as Muslims have to stand up to those who use Islam to advance their own personal agenda. They have alienated many from learning about Islam. True Muslims know or should know that it goes against our religion to try and force Islam on anybody.

    Speaking as someone who has never been accused of political correctness, I believe that our political leaders should use their position to bring understanding about the religion of Islam and clarify that these misguided murderers have perverted people’s views on what Islam really is.

    http://www.vox.com/policy-and-politics/2015/12/10/9885616/muhammad-ali-donald-trump-muslims

  3. 40Watt says:

    In a statement, the President and First Lady said:

    Muhammad Ali was The Greatest. Period. If you just asked him, he’d tell you. He’d tell you he was the double greatest; that he’d “handcuffed lightning, thrown thunder into jail.”

    But what made The Champ the greatest – what truly separated him from everyone else – is that everyone else would tell you pretty much the same thing.

    Like everyone else on the planet, Michelle and I mourn his passing. But we’re also grateful to God for how fortunate we are to have known him, if just for a while; for how fortunate we all are that The Greatest chose to grace our time.[…]

    Muhammad Ali shook up the world. And the world is better for it. We are all better for it.

    There’s more – http://www.politicususa.com/2016/06/04/president-obama-powerfully-poignantly-mourns-death-muhammad-ali.html

  4. ProfessorCanine says:

    “Why should they ask me to put on a uniform and go 10,000 miles from home and drop bombs and bullets on Brown people in Vietnam while so-called Negro people in Louisville are treated like dogs and denied simple human rights?
    No I’m not going 10,000 miles from home to help murder and burn another poor nation simply to continue the domination of white slave masters of the darker people the world over. This is the day when such evils must come to an end. I have been warned that to take such a stand would cost me millions of dollars.
    But I have said it once and I will say it again. The real enemy of my people is here. I will not disgrace my religion, my people or myself by becoming a tool to enslave those who are fighting for their own justice, freedom and equality.
    If I thought the war was going to bring freedom and equality to 22 million of my people they wouldn’t have to draft me, I’d join tomorrow. I have nothing to lose by standing up for my beliefs. So I’ll go to jail, so what? We’ve been in jail for 400 years.”
    > Muhammad Ali <
    The man was fearless and told it like was.

  5. irishgirl999 says:

    I have just spent the last hour watching it. Ali was magic – in every way.

  6. ProfessorCanine says:

    “My conscience won’t let me go shoot my brother, or some darker people, or some poor hungry people in the mud for big powerful America,” he said at the time. “And shoot them for what? They never called me nigger, they never lynched me, they didn’t put no dogs on me, they didn’t rob me of my nationality, rape and kill my mother and father. … Shoot them for what? How can I shoot them poor people? Just take me to jail.”
    > Muhammad Ali <
    Fuck.Just fuck.
    AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

