Open Thread

thread

I know there there’s LOTS going on in the world of politics, but we have sunny, warm weather here in Ireland. It doesn’t happen all that often, so when the sun shines, we avail of it. Ali and I are toasted. Not literally!

We have the BBQ out, the sausages defrosting, and my garden is looking wonderful. I discovered yesterday that *something* was eating my pansies. Googling homemade anti-slug remedies, I now have broken egg shells and some really vicious sandpaper surrounding my treasures. I fecking dare those slimy things to cross those barriers.

Anyway, I have been keeping my eye on politics. I must admit I am dismayed at the heated rhetoric surrounding Sanders and Clinton. I feel I should probably shut up about it and mind my own beeswax – but I will probably weigh in when we get cloudy weather. 🙂

So, North Korea is endorsing Trump. Well, that’s something I suppose? Trump’s little wig fluffer from AK now has to contend with the French disconnection and Billy Kristol. Oh my! Will Bristol have to write her own shit from here on in?

I have so many questions – no answers unfortunately.

Back to the garden with my Factor 50.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Open Thread

  1. uberduck says:

    Sunshine here too, at the lake with my elderly father. Doesn’t get any better. Enjoy yourself and your family. The Situation isn’t going to change one way or the other if we take some time off. Best to you and yours!

  2. titlewave says:

    Try copper tape from the garden store- made just for those snails and slugs. I put it around the bottom of pots, too, and it looks like part of the design

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I was thinking of putting the sandpaper at the bottom of the pots. I have loads of it left after my floor adventure!

      • Scarsdale says:

        Try Epsom Salts. Put a couple of spoonfuls in the hole, plant the flowers, sprinkle the Epsom Salts around to deter slugs.

  3. 40Watt says:

    Beer. If all else fails, bury a container with some beer in it. Slugs are known boozers. If you’re concerned about other insects falling in, offer them an escape route by putting a few small twigs in the container. Slugs will be too tipsy to use them,

  4. 40Watt says:

    “Back to the garden with my Factor 50” As a fellow Celt, I don’t even go close to a window in the summer unless I’m slathered in Factor 110.

  5. 40Watt says:

    Sorry about so many in a row, but it’s a lovely day, I have my sunscreen on, I have no slugs and I think this video is sweet.

  6. Linda says:

    Glad you are having wonderful weather in your beautiful city.Enjoy it! Trump is falling apart and I am waiting to see Trump, Palin and their gang rounded up and put in straight jackets. We have been very busy in Toronto, helping out, cooking suppers, taking grand kids to and fro from school and celebrating birthdays. We are enjoying this as it is not often we can do this. Next week we are heading out on our road trip to Newfoundland, should be fun. Big hello to your family and have fun in the sun! My computer is getting cleaned out so have not been able to see and read everything.It is a bummer, but even this shall pass!

    Cheers! Having a cold G!

  7. Judy says:

    I’m experiencing political overload. I cannot click on ANOTHER “Trump said something stupid AGAIN” and realize his polls went UP AGAIN. I sincerely hope that my country is NOT that stupid. OH WAIT the republicans want to decimate the department of education.

  8. ProfessorCanine says:

    re: garden slugs
    Common table salt poured on them will kill ’em dead.
    And sprinkle some around the perimeter of area to be protected and they will turn back and leave.
    source: I’ve tried it and it works.

  9. irishgirl999 says:

    Wow, Hillary made mincemeat of the Donald.

Leave a Reply

