I Don’t Like Bernie Sanders Anymore

BERNIE-6

 

I used to like Bernie Sanders – not so much anymore. He has turned into a milder, but still lethal version of Donald Trump. It appears that I’m not the only one turned off by him and his supporters.

Courtesy of TPM;

The New York Timesposted an article late Wednesday evening which confirms and expands on much of what I’ve been hearing from within the Sanders campaign in recent weeks and days. The top leaders of the campaign are now saying openly that they are focused on dealing a crushing blow to Clinton in the California primary on June 7th and aren’t concerned whether it damages Clinton’s chances in the general election or not.

He has essentially lost. He fought a good fight until recently. His issues were important and resonated with many people. Why he decided to get into the mud is beyond me.

It is painfully conspicuous how little the Sanders camp is now pressing its issue agenda as its chances of winning the nomination have diminished. On the contrary, it’s debates and a ‘rigged’ primary process, points that are either trivial and nonsensical or hypocritical inasmuch as the ‘rigged’ parts of the process are the ones the Sanders’ campaign has used most effectively. The process reforms Sanders is now marching to the convention for seem like little more than attempts to prosecute and vindicate his overarching claim that the primary process in which he lost was illegitimate. In other words, his justification for continuing is mostly a feedback loop of his refusal to accept that he came close but ultimately lost.

I haven’t read one favourable article about Bernie today. Even Charles Pierce from Esquire who admitted to having voted for him is royally pissed off.

That being said, this whole mess was over four freaking delegates, and the Sanders people should know better than to conclude what has been a brilliant and important campaign by turning it into an extended temper tantrum.

I voted for Bernie Sanders. I even wrote about why I didhere at this very shebeen. But if anybody thinks that, somehow, he is having the nomination “stolen” from him, they are idiots.

And, no, I don’t want to talk about it.

Then there is the twitter hash tag  which was trending yesterday. #bernielostme.

Bernie needs to start behaving like an adult. He is going to hand the presidency to Trump if he keeps this up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I Don’t Like Bernie Sanders Anymore

  1. 40Watt says:

    Madeleine M. Kunin, First Female Governor of Vermont: “He ran against me in 1986 when I was running for my second term as governor of Vermont. At that time he had little affinity for the Democratic Party. When advised that his third-party candidacy might result in a Republican victory, he saw no difference between Democrats and Republicans, saying, “It is absolutely fair to say you are dealing with Tweedledum and Tweedledee.”

    More here – http://www.huffingtonpost.com/madeleine-m-kunin/when-bernie-sanders-ran-a_b_9170140.html

  2. 40Watt says:

    This may be slight OT. Forgive me. I’m pissed off.

    Trump and his trumpeters and strumpets are one thing, but listening to young women thoughtlessly repeating the meme – Hillary “enabled” Bill’s affairs, makes my blood boil.

    Listen to me, you ungrateful little wretches. Some of us worked very hard to try and make things better for you. Among the things we wanted to change was the general habit of finding some way – however illogical and tortuous – to blame women for things men had done wrong. The words, “Well, the person I blame is the wife” were not going to be leveled at girls becoming women in the next generation.

    Don’t fool yourselves that by using some fancy, psychological-sounding-so-you-appear-smart sort of words – “enabling” and “enabler” makes this different. In this case, “Hillary is an enabler” means Hillary is to blame just as surely as it did in the days of your mothers and grandmothers.

    What next? If one of your sisters is sexually assaulted, will it be “she must have been asking for it?”

  3. lindak1961 says:

    I don’t like Bernie anymore either. I voted for Hillary in the SC primary, which is an open primary, and she won it handily. Bernie campaigned here, but when he lost big, he abandoned the South. That wasn’t what made me not like him, it just seemed like a good use of his money to use it in states he could win. It’s how he’s conducted his campaign these last few weeks that has made me not like him anymore. It’s not his staying in, it’s the mess in Nevada, and Sanders’ reaction to to it. It’s wanting to flip enough superdelegates to win, after whining about the said superdelegates. And after Nevada, I see no chance of him flipping any superdelegates. Before Nevada, he had a slim chance, especially if he did well in NJ and California. I’m doubt he will do very well in the last states to vote, including NJ and California.

    He had a great message, but is letting his ego get in the way.

    • lindak1961 says:

      I voted for Hillary because I thought she had more experience to deal with foreign affairs, but was glad that Sanders was in the race to bring attention to income inequality. It pains me to see Sanders throwing away any chance he has to influence the Democratic platform because his ego won’t let him see that he can’t win.

      • 40Watt says:

        I agree. I do think it was inevitable that he threw away the chance because he has shown no ability to think in any depth about how his proposals might be turned into reality. He was a disaster in the interview with the editorial board of the NY Post and simply blustered on Bill Maher.

        But Maher—in a surprise move—challenged Sanders on his utopian plan, echoing the most common critiques of the candidate’s agenda: that there’s no way raising taxes for the top 1 percent of Americans could pay for all these programs.

        “The tax revenue that we would get just from taxing the people who I think your fans think you’re talking about, the people who own a yacht, does not come close to covering what you want to pay for,” said Maher.

        “Not true. Not true,” a clearly-thrown Sanders fired back. “What I’m saying is there have been articles out there that have been really unfair and wrong…..”

        More – http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2015/10/16/bill-maher-stuns-bernie-sanders-how-will-america-pay-for-your-radical-agenda.html

    • rj40 says:

      I totally agree!

  4. Moles says:

    The so called BernieBots are behaving like third formers in a schoolyard food fight. I can see nothing to separate them from Trump’s lot. Death threats to state Democrat leaders?What is the MATTER with these people? They are handing the election to Trump on a platter or is that actually their intention? With such unbelievable stupidity it’s hard to tell. And he just stands pat in his badly cut wrinkled suit nodding happily.
    He’s as mad as they are.

  5. DelMartian says:

    I agree with all the above observations and I just mailed my primary ballot (California).
    A few weeks ago it would’ve been Bernie but now it’s Hillary.
    But, after watching him today, I think he might ‘stroke-out’ before the convention. It sure looks like he’s pushed the old man brain/body too far.

  6. Tumbleweed1 says:

    I’m just gonna shoot and yell shit.

    • Tumbleweed1 says:

      Before anyone takes that the wrong way, please note that I don’t even own a flashlight, much less a gun.

      I am making arrangements to move to Canada.

  7. Moles says:

    For the life of me I cannot work this out. I picture Sanders getting up in the morning, going into the bathroom to shave, looking in the mirror and saying to himself “I’m just the person to be President”. At that point he should fall to the floor in hysterics but he actually believes it.
    Terrifying.

    • 40Watt says:

      I agree, that is an appalling article.

      • ProfessorCanine says:

        There’s a shit ton of “appalling” articles out there about Bernie that are getting tossed back and forth and printed incessantly like somehow that gives them validity.
        By any measure or standard,no matter whom a person is voting for,it sucks.

      • irishgirl999 says:

        DWS is fecking awful. She has made a dog’s dinner of everything.

  8. 40Watt says:

    May I add: There’s also a shit ton of “appalling” articles out there about Hillary that are getting tossed back and forth and printed incessantly like somehow that gives them validity. So it goes.

    One can ignore them, point out their invalidity to others, discuss the situation with those who are prepared to listen if you are able to also listen to them or just get down in the gutter and hurl insults. Whatever one believes will work.

  9. Pearl says:

    Sick of the Bernie Bots too. BTW, Irish…did I do something wrong? I haven’t been receiving your new posts for at least 2 months now. I try re-following and it says I’ve already subscribed. 😦 Sorry if I posted something exceptionally untoward. Was it that Star Trek meme I made about Bristol Palin?

    • Pearl says:

      And also, I don’t get notifications if someone has replied to me, even though I tick the ‘notify me on new comments via email’ box.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I don’t know why that is happening Pearl. I am mystified. I did change my computer around that time and have now advanced to Windows 10 but I don’t know if that is causing a problem. Word Press hasn’t alerted me to any problem.

  10. Pete says:

    I totally agree, at first it was the Bernie Bros. I had a problem with, the whole “Bernie or Bust” mentality is so immature and the incessant Clinton bashing on their part has been out of control from the start. But in the past couple of months Bernie Sanders has really shown his true colors. All his whining and bitching is a real turn off. We aren’t electing a Cry baby and Chief to run the country.

Leave a Reply

