New Learning Curve For IG

My PC has been quite ill over the last number of years. I’m no tech person, but I was determined not to let the computer beat me. I have opened up the bowels of the hard-drive thingy and reset the memory sticks, stared at the blue screen of death more times than I care to imagine, googled the problem, reset the BIOS thingy, hoovered the dust from the air vent thingy and kept this baby sort of working. I even varnished the floor in the room two years ago and varnished around the hard drive thingy. I was afraid to move it.

Windows XP died a while ago and I didn’t upgrade. Why would I with a baby this sick?  Well now Chrome keeps crashing on me just when I am in the middle of an earth-shattering revelation. Today, I think the fan thingy died. I kept the start button pressed for five minutes whilst pumping oxygen from my jaded lungs into the air vent thingy.

Lo and behold, I got the old gal up and working again but you know when it’s time to call a halt. Today, I had to go out and replace my PC. I decided to go for a laptop. It is a tiny, little thingy and my fingers are too biggy. I am a long fingered vulgarian, I am afraid. It will take me all day to write a post on that tiny keyboard. I can get over that, but I will lose access to my beloved Photoshop and Illustrator – all of which were purchased legally!?!

So while I type this post on the old gal, she could expire any minute now.

I have the new thingy now. We’ll see how I get on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Learning Curve For IG

  1. pvaz says:

    There must be other apps installed on your new pc that would work for you. Maybe your loss is not as great as you think.

    • Moles says:

      I don’t want to be the voice of doom but Adobe really suck about transferring their programs to new computers. They may be more understanding re PCs but Macs? Forget it.

  2. lindak1961 says:

    Don’t know about software transfers, but you could get a wireless keyboard to use with your laptop. Last year at work, when they replaced all of our PCs. everyone got a laptop, but a wireless keyboard and mouse to use at our desks at work. Of course, now that I have a laptop, I can take it, and work home, but I haven’t so far. I live about 10 minutes away, so if needed, go in early or work late. I’d have a hard time not being distracted if I tried to work at home.

  3. Just got a new PC at my work last week and switched to a teeny tiny laptop at home from a PC around Christmas. Change isn’t easy, but keep plugging away. They will become your new tried and true – – – and they seem to withstand the frustration and potty mouth of the user in training.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I’m going to keep plugging away and see how I get on. I think I’m already getting somewhat used to it. If my fingers are too clumsy then I may go for the wireless keyboard and mouse as Linda1961 suggested.

Leave a Reply

