Super Tuesday

Today is super, because the gas man came in to give me a quote on a new boiler. Two thousand fecking euro!!

Son rang me last night from Panama. I need a ticket home mum. Nearly 700 euro.

Daughter needs to pay fees for exams in June – over 100 euro.

An “investment” needs some investing. I can’t divulge much about that but it is the same as a ticket home from Panama or San Diego.

The only upside to this, is that when the gas man came in, I asked him about our immersion, which died a few years ago. He told me there was a reset button on the top of the tank and he tapped it and said that should do the trick.

The only problem was…it didn’t do the trick.

I am like a dog with a bone. I wanted hot water and I wanted it now. I tried the reset button with my finger a number of times. Then I tried it with my toothbrush. Nothing happened.

I tried the timer and was ready to tear apart the whole fecking thing in a rage. I had googled every possible scenario apart from taking the whole thing apart. The fear of electrocution kept me somewhat calm and away from the scary bits.

Then I went back upstairs with a chinese noodle stick and a torch and I stuck the noodle stick down on the reset button. I heard a click!

There was a sweet humming sound and I gleefully made my way down stairs and prayed like crazy. I turned on the taps after a while  – hot water!

It did turn off after a bit. Daughter and I have both had a shower. I am sitting in my pjs feeling oh so clean and fresh.

It has turned off again…but oh joy. Feeling good for now.

Gas man back on Thursday to fix everything. I hope.

Good luck America!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Super Tuesday

  1. lindak1961 says:

    Good luck IG!

  2. irishgirl999 says:

    Thanks Linda. Saw Samantha Bee in the wee hours. Wow!

    I can’t embed it if it isn’t on youtube, which is a bit of a downer. Anyway, I was busy trying to electrocute myself.

  3. Pearl says:

    I’m proud of you for not giving up, Irish!

  4. irishgirl999 says:

    I hate something getting the better of me, be it electrical, gaseous or chemical.

  5. ProfessorCanine says:

    Son didn’t buy a round trip ticket to get back home?

  6. irishgirl999 says:

    Have you ever sat up in the middle of the night and saiid – oh shit. I gave away 600 euro to a stranger without a receipt or anything.

  7. irishgirl999 says:

    Damn, that is my night’s sleep gone.

  8. irishgirl999 says:

    And to top it all, I broke my I Love New York ashtray.

Leave a Reply

