The Dangers Of Bird Watching

coal tit

I may have mentioned it before, but I bought a bird feeder around Christmas. Soon after, I bought sunflower hearts. Well, I obviously filled the feeder with the seeds (hearts) and then it was like the bird movie…

We had an invasion of birds. It actually was fascinating. Hubby and I would sit in the kitchen and try to figure out what species was out there. I know coal tits from blue tits and the different types of chaffinches now. We have had starlings, thrushes, a wee wren and our resident blackbirds and robins. The antics and the fights over the seeds was a thing to behold.

Anyway, we ran out of the sunflower hearts which they seemed to love. Those fecking birds deserted us. The “fat balls” that we replaced them with, didn’t quite draw the same crowd.

Today, I went shopping. There was an offer in our local Aldi. It was a fecking sack of sunflower and other assorted seeds. It was the equivalent of $10 and I could barely lift it.

I came home delighted with my purchase and my daughter looked at me in disbelief and asked why I had bought so much.

I retorted – I missed my little tits.

Hubby smiled broadly, daughter’s shoulders were shaking – she had her back to me. I fell around the kitchen laughing having realised what I had said.

No, I haven’t had a boob job.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Dangers Of Bird Watching

  1. titlewave says:

    Great story!
    (I’m so shallow.. I was going to say something about your blue tits…but I won’t)
    🙂

  2. And I was going to comment that like Ms. SP, you also, too have disappearing tits. I fed birds for many years and was always guilt ridden when I was getting low on food. Our feeder drew squirrels, as well, so many hours were spent creating devices to outwit them, the rascals!. Those birds are a fickle bunch when the food runs out and the gravy train has ended though. I still have regulars in my yard fending for themselves, but miss the species that found easier pickings elsewhere. I still feed 2 Anna Hummingbirds that don’t get along all year round. Been doing that for 15 – 20 years.

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    It’s the same all over the world!

  4. Moles says:

    Years back I totally lost my head and put up a dove cote. Doves and sparrows came from miles around, it was standing room only. When I went out one morning to dispense the breakfast birdseed, I was greeted by dozens of furious little feathered people sitting on the wall chattering with rage. The reason? A furry bum was sticking out the door of the dove cote. The possums had discovered their winter shelter.

  5. vegaslib says:

    Now that’s funny!

  6. KatieAnnieOakley says:

    You could have been feeding Blue Boobies…

Leave a Reply

