The Humble Irish Spud, With Political Overtones

kevin-abosch-photo

A photo taken by Irish visual artist Kevin Abosch at his Dublin home has been sold to a European businessman for $1 million. (Photo : Twitter/First We Feast)

Courtesy of here:

A photo of a potato that was taken by a popular Irish visual artist has been sold to a European businessman for more than $1 million.

The million-dollar photo of a stem tuber against a black background was taken by Kevin Abosch, who has taken the portraits of notable subjects, including Malala Yousafza and Yoko Ono, according to ABC News.

So what made the Irish visual artist decide to take a photo of the spud? Abosch revealed that the potato first came into his house in a batch of organic vegetables back in 2010.

Abosch took photos of several potatoes and this particular potato left him uncertain of its variety. “I see commonalities between humans and potatoes that speak to our relationship as individuals within a collective species,” he told the Irish Times. “Generally, the life of a harvested potato is violent and taken for granted. I use the potato as a proxy for the ontological study of the human experience.”

Hell, I thought to myself. I can do that too! So I did.

spud copy

You see, I too also saw the similarity between potatoes and humans and proxies. This lone potato ( a Rooster no less) is meant to esoterically signify the cockiness inherent in Donald J.Trump. This simple, but poignant image connotes to me – Trump’s fat buttocks – with a fork stuck in it. That would be Sarah Palin.

The image is slightly out of focus. That was intentional. If I had zoomed into that purple exterior, there is no way of knowing what damage may have been inflicted on the viewers.

Potential buyers. Please contact me ASAP.

[H/T to my man in Del Mar]  🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Humble Irish Spud, With Political Overtones

  1. lindak1961 says:

    Brilliant!

  2. Free bird4 says:

    Love it Raygun!! So creative!!

  3. 40Watt says:

    Intellectually complex, revelatory, daringly evocative and positively Borgesian. If I come across a stray $1,000,000 I’ll be beating a path to your door.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      You know my fecking address. And I know yours.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I surprise myself sometimes, and that is good. 🙂
      Intellectually complex, revelatory, daringly evocative and positively Borgesian.

      Yes! I hit those notes. 😉

      I have been known to take pictures of fake eggs in the garden. I actually drew the eggs and deposited them all over the place…

      Photography is a wonderful thing.

  4. Linda says:

    A cute story! My Grandmother and her kin grew up on Irish potatoes, as Trinidad was a British Colony and we got a lot of products from Britian, henceforth, my Gran called every potato Irish. Even if spuds came from P.E.I, Idaho, she never recognized their country, they were always Irish!

Leave a Reply

