OMG – My New Jersey Cousin Is Voting For Trump

scream

Having not talked to my cousin in NJ for two years, I decided today was the day I was going to pick up the phone and ring him.

We got down to family business first. Who was dead and who was alive. How was his dog? Was he back with his partner?

I’ll call him Charlie, because that is his name. I have stayed with Charlie a number of times in NJ, and he has visited us in Ireland, also and too.

We love each other as only first cousins who have met each other 5 times over the course of our lifetimes can. We are actually extremely fond of each other. I do love him dearly.

Of course, the conversation drifted around to politics tonight. He informed me that he didn’t like Obama and was going to vote for Trump!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can you just imagine my reaction?

I stayed calm, debated him on the issues. He wasn’t budging and I knew more about it than him.

I finally said to him, I know why families don’t like Thanksgiving. To give him credit, he laughed. We ended up back talking about family again because I told him there was no way I could agree with him on politics and I didn’t want to pursue it.

He told me to get used to a Trump presidency.

I said no fecking way.

We parted on good terms.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to OMG – My New Jersey Cousin Is Voting For Trump

  1. irishgirl999 says:

    I think I am done blogging. I got a notice yesterday congratulating me on 4 years of blogging. I reckon my time is up.

    Slán.

  2. PVAZ says:

    Well, I would hate to see you give up blogging, but it would give you more time to fix up the backyard, especially that area over…well you know. Cheers, keep blogging!!

  3. Tumbleweed1 says:

    Don’t stop blogging (of course, unless you REALLY want to)
    Otherwise, I will just have to find a different way to stalk you.

  4. Tumbleweed1 says:

    “Why is no one listening to you?”’

    I am here and I am listening.

    Umm…..just so you know; your blog site can make it difficult to respond sometimes. Nothing at all to do with you Irishgirl.

    Don’t make me fly to Ireland and smack some sense into you. 🙂

  5. irishgirl999 says:

    No. Only once. Just that one time in France.

    I was pissed that no one responded.

    But, on reflection, that is no way to go about blogging.

  6. irishgirl999 says:

    or stealing your lighter.

    • Tumbleweed1 says:

      Meh. S’alright.
      I forgot about the France steal.
      Now you owe me TWICE.

      Actually, I believe a THIRD time……the one you dropped out of our no smoking window onto the roof below….
      Set the Smoke Police on us.

      Yep.
      And people wonder why I’m afraid to travel abroad again…
      Just kidding IG. Good times…..
      Keep blogging.
      You’re fecking GOOD at it.

  7. irishgirl999 says:

    You have brought me back from the abyss with your sensible Kansan ways.

  8. irishgirl999 says:

    And I will return your lighter.

    • Tumbleweed1 says:

      Sweet! The sooner the better. I am not even going to share what I am trying to do here to light a smoke.
      And it has absolutely nothing to do with how gorgeous the Captain of the local Fire Team is.

      I swear.
      (Isn’t there some song called, “Burning Down the House”?

  9. irishgirl999 says:

    3am here. I am old and need to go to bed.

  10. Judy says:

    Been talking about you a lot at work lately. Remember the phone call I got when we were in the Air and Space Museum requesting my presence at an interview the next day. and I refused. THAT is the same job I now have.

  11. irishgirl999 says:

    Looking forward to seeing your daughter in March.

  12. irishgirl999 says:

    It’s a woman’s perogative to feel distraught and hysterical once in a while.

  13. lindak1961 says:

    Don’t give up blogging IG! I don’t always comment, but I’m “listening,” that is, reading.

    As for your cousin, I understand, as some of my relatives are thinking of voting for tRump. The thing is, all other of the gop candidates are just as bad, they just aren’t as blatant in their racism. I hope that Hillary or Bernie crushes the gop candidate so badly that the gop will change for the better, or just die out, leaving an opening for a better alternative to the Democrats than we have now.

  14. irishgirl999 says:

    I know you do. And I appreciate it so much.

    To be honest, I don’t think that I could give up blogging. I was threatening to pick up my toys and go home. It was sort of meant in jest.

Leave a Reply

