Busy Week

Our lean, mean, fit machine – 8 years ago. This was a game called “ropey.” We had a fantastic skipping rope that she could sink her teeth into. Once she caught it, you were fecked. She wouldn’t let go. That dog could do double somersaults.IMG_0344copy

We had to take her to the vet this week. She needed her vaccination, but had been a bit sick this last week. She’s doing fine now.

She is put out because my daughter has friends over to watch a movie and have some pizza. We had to remove her blue blankie from the couch because it is full of dog hairs (and stinks).

Daughter is put out because she arrived home from school at 4.30 to find her mother and father imbibing wine! Yes, at 4.30pm. Hubby had to go to a rowing do tonight in Dublin. It’s cold and wet and he has to get up at 6.30am to fecking row. He didn’t want to go and was trying to put down the hours until 8pm.

One glass of wine later and we had torn into the Manchego cheese and Tipperary Blue cheese. Crackers and olives were also on the menu. We polished off the bottle of wine much to daughter’s dismay. Hubby has gone to his rowing do, and I am banished to the attic.

I promised to remain hidden while her friends are over.

And I won’t even go there with my night out with the neighbours last night.

Well, I will. One woman is dealing with two of her children (in their 20s) dying from a muscular wasting disease – it is genetic. I only meet her on these occasions and I do not want to spoil her night out by asking about her children. I am conflicted about this.

Another friend’s daughter was diagnosed with melanoma earlier this year, and then discovered she was pregnant. She babysat my daughter for years. She is now fine, but my friend’s husband has been diagnosed with motor neuron disease.

And then there is another woman suffering from a bit of depression. Her husband died suddenly a few years ago and her kids have gone a bit crazy in that they are not attending college and seemed to have dropped out. She is trying to deal with this on her own.

I have not been immune to trouble either. Without going into too much detail, our life was rocked from 2011 until 2014. Kids do that to you.

A few years ago we would have had a mad night. Last night was nice to catch up, but sad.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Busy Week

  1. titlewave says:

    BIG HUGE hugs to you IG. And I can’t imagine what to say to those parents either. Maybe just a hug or a gentle hand squeeze and a sympathetic smile says more.

    I’ve been so lucky, it worries me sometimes.

  2. Professorcanine says:

    Booby trapped dog:

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    Lol. My late departed father once took what he thought was a handkerchief to work. Imagine his embarrassment when he pulled out my mother’s bra to blow his nose.

  4. irishgirl999 says:

    He also once felt something nipping at his knees while swimming in Sri Lanka. He jumped out of the water and roared “shark attack” only to discover that his swimming gear had migrated to his ankles.

    He had everyone’s full attention by then.

  5. irishgirl999 says:

    He was a medic in the British army…for a while. Don’t ask about the medic part or the British army part.

  6. lindak1961 says:

    {{Hugs}}

  7. MrsGunka says:

    Love and hugs to your neighbors and friends. And you too. We earn these grey hairs! They do grow up and become humans! That has to be a male dog! teehee

  8. irishgirl999 says:

    When I was about 11 or 12, we had an outside toilet in Oz. Late one night, I was perched on the loo, when all of a sudden I heard these threatening footsteps from outside. I shot up and out only to fall into my father’s arms. He thought it was hysterical…

    • Pearl says:

      Hugs for you and yours for all those challenges and sadness. Life is a cruel mistress but also a fun one too. What a crazy ride.

  9. irishgirl999 says:

    We were a very sporty family. High jump, long jump, 50 metres. The local nuns gave us all of their sports equipment to practice over the weekend. We had the high jump set up and dad came home from work and took a running jump…

    He made it. I think it was 7 ft.

  10. irishgirl999 says:

    No, it was 4 foot ten.

  11. irishgirl999 says:

    My father hated George Bush with a passion. He was right.

  12. irishgirl999 says:

    I don’t know how this has ended up as a tribute to my father. He loved to garden. He moved back to Ireland in the 70’s. He wasn’t settled and I knew it. As a 16 or 17 yr old, I felt I needed to connect with him. So I would walk in the garden with him to reconnect. We talked about flowers. He drove me to the train station on a motor bike to go to college. I never knew whether I would make it….
    I can remember him laughing at me as I woke up hung over one morning.
    He was the the most god awful driver…

    He was my dad.

  13. titlewave says:

    I hope you haven’t gone off to bed! I’m loving these stories, why not a tribute? I think remembering and telling the stories is wonderful way to honor him. Sounds like he was quite a character, and I mean that in a good way 🙂

Leave a Reply

