The Haka

It’s  my blog and I’ll cry if I want to.

Tribute to Jonah Lomu from his former school.

Jonah’s last Haka performed a few weeks ago in Covent Garden, London.

New Zealand’s last Haka before they won the World Cup, 2015.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Haka

  1. irishgirl999 says:

    And that my friends, is how you scare the shit out of the Republicans.

  2. irishgirl999 says:

    Bye bye Bobby bye bye. 🙂

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    I would have posted the Haka earlier if I had known it would have this effect.

    • titlewave says:

      Now, now, I think you just scared everyone. I watched a Haka performance in Hawaii when I was very young. Scared the shit out of me 🙂

      I didn’t know anything about sports teams using it, though, so looked up the history- very cool, and many variations! Thanks

      • irishgirl999 says:

        It is a traditional Maori war dance.
        The haka is an ancient posture dance of the New Zealand Māori that was traditionally used to prepare a war party for battle. It was performed either on the battle field prior to engagement with the enemy, or as the war party was leaving their own village en route to a battle.

        The ferocious nature of the haka created a united frenzy among the war party preparing them mentally and physically for the reality of war and impending conflict.

Leave a Reply

