The Squirrels And Our Hazelnuts

hazelWe have a hazelnut tree and last year Β for the first time, we had a bumper crop and we picked these.

This year, there were plenty of nuts on the tree but we also noticed that there was a huge increase in squirrels in our locality. I know in the US that you see them everywhere, but here in Dublin, not so much. It all changed about two months ago. There were squirrels everywhere.

Last week, my husband said to me that he would pick the hazelnuts. However, before he got around to it, word went out in squirrel land that we had a hazelnut tree.

sqsq2They partied for about two days and that was the end of our hazelnuts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Squirrels And Our Hazelnuts

  1. MrsGunka says:

    So nice of you to feed the squirrel critters all winter. Don’t you feel good inside? Bet you can find some in the store that are all shelled and ready to use! πŸ™‚

    • irishgirl999 says:

      Ha. I said the same thing to hubby. It is easier to buy them. It was funny though because I noticed a squirrel in my herb garden and wondered what he was doing there. He had hidden some chestnuts behind a shovel and gone for the hazelnuts. πŸ™‚

      • titlewave says:

        Isn’t that sweet! They are paying it forward- next year you’ll have little hazelnut trees growing everywhere! Here the little critters bury walnuts around my yard and patio- I have never seen a walnut tree and have no idea where they are getting them πŸ™‚

      • irishgirl999 says:

        I love the idea of pay it forward.

        Hubby and I are sitting here on our lonesome. He has a rather strange taste in music but he just played this for me.

        I am smitten by the Wainwright family.

      • Pearl says:

        They bury their nuts and soon they’ll be tearing up your garden looking for those nuts. I hope they don’t annihilate your perennials. I had them destroy some trees I grew from seeds that were about 5 years old. This one particularly evil and nasty one bit and dug them up so he could use the pots to stash his booty. When I first moved to Alaska I thought they were so cute. Then I saw them murder baby birds in the nest! They’re murderers AND assholes.

  2. irishgirl999 says:

    For those of you (everyone) who didn’t bother to watch this video. It is your loss.

    I swear, it is magical.

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    Cooked pulled pork today and watched rugby matches. It’s Saturday! Chill. πŸ™‚

  4. irishgirl999 says:

    I think I am talking to myself! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • No, you’re not alone. I’m the afternoon crew after just finishing a 5 hour morning at work. Here in the Puget Sound we’re being blasted by the remnants of an Hawaiian hurricane. Wind and rain were just slashing sideways . . . all squirrels and bunnies have gone to hunker down.

      Hazelnuts are quite a crop in the area just south of Portland, Oregon. where my dad was raised. My grandfather, a pharmacist in the early 1900s, also had a hazelnut orchard for a time. We’ve always called them Filberts. Spent many a Sunday with my sisters cracking them around the kitchen table. Who’d a thought that 30 years later I’d have a row of filbert trees at my house. Like you, all my animal and bird friends get to them long before I do. I have rarely seen any to harvest – – but I do find them growing in my yard.

  5. MrsGunka says:

    I think they are a weed in Germany. They make everything with them……especially Marzipan. Almost all the goodies our German kids brought to us were laden with Hazelnuts. I just love them but still like our walnuts (Black and English) and pecans. I buy Hazelnuts for baking at Christmas as I have many German cookie recipes. Now you made me hungry for Christmas cookies. My in-laws had a tree and hubby cracked a few million growing up. Always bought him a big bag at the holidays to just eat. I can still hear him cracking those things at the kitchen table! He liked to put a few shells in the garbage disposal to sharpen the blades! It works and polishes the inside! I love Black walnuts but they are a pistol to crack and get the nuts out! Had a wonderful Black walnut cake that took like 2 cups of ground nuts. It was wonderful, but I lost the recipe. Our good friends had a black walnut farm and they would give us big bags of them (cracked) I kept in the freezer and take out a few to sprinkle over hot fudge sundaes! Out of this world! Our neighbor man from Holland would grind his own Hazelnuts and made the most wonderful Marzipan Christmas Stollen every year. It was a loved gift! Just laid in my nut supply for Christmas….walnuts, almonds and pecans. Huge bags from Costco. In the freezer! Next year I will order a bag of shelled Hazelnuts from Ireland – hand picked! Keep those darn squirrels away! πŸ™‚

    • Back in the olden days of the 50’s – 60’s it seems a bowl of nuts and a nutcracker were a regular ‘go to’ snack food when visitors came – – as were shelling bags of nuts. Seems like that just doesn’t really happen any more. While somewhat mind numbing, it was a time around a table spread with newspapers where you cracked and talked away. We’d sometimes have the radio on in the kitchen, but certainly no TV – – it was in the living room. A tradition not carried forward into my own family of 2 sons – – none of us favor nuts in desserts. We cracked a lot of walnuts, too. They were a challenge !

  6. DelMartian says:

    I just ran across a good squirrel piece:

    http://www.buzzfeed.com/chelseamarshall/squirrel-truther-and-proud#.vuZ9kwKm7

    BTW it’s 92 degrees here in Dull Mar right now…… sure glad I installed AC a few weeks ago.

  7. irishgirl999 says:

    I do not want to hear about your good weather. πŸ™‚

  8. irishgirl999 says:

    I am so missing Ocean Beach right now, but am making plans to go to Iceland. πŸ™‚

  9. Pearl says:

    The worst squirrels in the world live in Alaska. I have a live trap and I relocate them to places occupied by assholes. Lately I’ve been taking them to the woods by the Holy Roller Church. One day I went to one of their many rummage sales and one of the church women running it was breastfeeding her son who was about 4 feet tall and appeared to be about 8 years old.

    • Scarsdale says:

      I would have asked if that could have been Bristles PayMe, but she avoids church, just like her momma. Tripp looks about 8, but she still claims he is 6.

      • Pearl says:

        I wish I could have gotten a picture but I was so uncomfortable I was nervously laughing. This kid was laying across her lap and he was so old already that his feet were on the ground bent at the ankles. Before that he was having a full on conversation with one of the other church ladies, then he latched on and I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I didn’t know whether I should call the out pedo squad or something. Wow!

  10. Judy says:

    IG did you get my email of the Bride?

Leave a Reply

