Suicide

My husband took the dog out for a walk this morning. He met our immediate neighbours coming back from mass and they told him that another neighbour, a few doors away from us, had committed suicide. He was 46. My husband didn’t know the man. Our neighbours described the man to my husband, and I immediately knew who it was.

I am fairly sure that the deceased man was on a resident’s committee with me many years ago.

In recent years, I passed him on the way to the shop frequently, and I wondered about him. He looked increasingly, mentally ill and very unhappy.

I’m not going to see him again. But I just wanted to remember him. I don’t even know his name.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Suicide

  1. pvaz says:

    That was a nice thought, Irish, “to remember him”

  2. Ripley in CT says:

    I am sorry to see this post. It brings up a lot of things, that vary for everyone.

    I lost 2 cousins within a year of each other to suicide 2010 and 2011. One on each side of my family. They didn’t know each other at all, as like I said, 2 different branches of the family. I knew them both. In fact, my mom named me for my female cousin. She OD’d.

    My other cousin, my father’s sister’s son, was always a little “off” growing up. We played together as kids.. He never really seemed “happy”. He wasn’t. He moved away when we were young adults. He shot himself with his service revolver, after precisely planning it all out. He was a Sheriff.

    There are so many issues with mental illness that are difficult to treat. My namesake was never right after her father died, well into her adulthood- she was 54. She had struggled with depression which had eventually caused her divorce. My other cousin struggled with a mother and father whose expectations he could never seem to meet as the eldest son. He was 45.

    It’s just never easy. Sorry to go on, but , see my second sentence.

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    Rip and I go back a few years….

  4. lindak1961 says:

    Can’t “like” this post, IG. So sorry to hear about this young man’s suicide. Yes, a 46 year old is young to me…

  5. MrsGunka says:

    Too soon. Still in the why stage……

    • MrsGunka says:

      Sending good thoughts to family, friends and neighbors. A car accident, cancer, murder has a reason we can grasp, but suicide, has nothing but guilt and why. Why didn’t we see it sooner……..often we do, but nothing seemed to work or they concealed it or said don’t worry, I’m fine…….

  6. Dusty says:

    {{{Hugs IG}}}}

Leave a Reply

