That Damn Bridge – It Was Everywhere

_MG_0032View from Coit Tower

_MG_0074View from on the bridge

_MG_0093View from the other side

_MG_0106

What no bridge?

_MG_0163View from under the bridge

_MG_0180Random thoughts

_MG_0190Lands End. They don’t tell you about the steps down. AND UP.

_MG_0196Some kind of plant on the way up. Daughter was not fooled. She knew I was stopping to give my legs a rest. The heart was good, but the calves were screaming.

_MG_0199Oh lookie – the bridge again. This time shrouded in the famous fog.

_MG_0216Down and up. I balked at this one and never got to see the labyrinth.

But I googled it.

600_433321723

Having blown through our budget by day 3, I made ham and cheese sandwiches for our hike. Jaysus H. Christ. It cost ten dollars for some ham and cheese. We only had access to Whole Foods in the Noe Valley… I believe Trader Joe is much better value.

At the end of Lands End (we did have to come all the way back, so this was only a respite) we had our sammiches and water. I was gasping for a cigarette. I had to wait until the coast was clear, and then I discovered my damn lighter had broken! Have you ever felt like crying?

Not one to be deterred, well what choice had I? We headed back. Imagine my relief to see someone smoking underneath a leafy tree. After a quick bartering session, I left with my cigarette lighting, and my new-found friend had another cigarette. This is why I love America.They will do anything for a smoke.

_MG_0347Ocean Beach, San Diego.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to That Damn Bridge – It Was Everywhere

  1. 40Watt says:

    As long as you didn’t buy the asparagus water in Whole Foods.

  2. 40Watt says:

    Wonderful pics, though.

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    I’m glad I didn’t fall for the artisan carrotts for $35.99.

  4. irishgirl999 says:

    Also and too. When you are in CA, you are on the arse end of the time zone.

  5. vegaslib says:

    Those picutres are amazing. I especially love the one of the path with the trees on the left, and the gorgeous beach shot. You are muy talented!

  6. MrsGunka says:

    Thank you! It’s been a long time since we lived there, and doubt I will get back to see it again. Nice pictures! Could you see the smoke from the fires across the country? Rain in our mountains washed a bunch away, but it is back today and winds bringing it in very fast. Nice short reprieve. Hope the Berroca is really kicking in!

Leave a Reply

