Day 14

Son took us to La Jolla Cove for snorkelling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Day 14

  1. irishgirl999 says:

    It is beautiful. We snorkelled with the garibaldi and watched the seals. No photos as son suggested leaving my camera at his place as we would all be in the water together. I have traipsed around the West Coast with that damn camera. It is an Canon EOS 30D and it weighs a tonne. I noticed some very strange bruises on my arms over the last few days and put it down to lugging the camera in my rucksack. I showed surfer dude today and he told me that I had been bitten by a poisonous spider!

    In other sad news. Son attended a Global Youth Conference in NYC and Washington when he was 18. His roommate was an American guy from Cleveland. They stayed in touch via Facebook. He noticed something strange going on on FB over the weekend, only to discover that this poor young man had been shot dead outside a metro station in DC. Apparently he was not the intended target. He had worked as an intern for Rob Portman. So sad and needless. He was 23.

    Son has just texted us to say he is out of urgent care!! While snorkelling today, he dived down into the water and then complained about a pain in his ear and jaw. Apparently, he has burst his eardrum. Waiting to hear more details.

    • 40Watt says:

      Oh dear! Well, I am happy to hear the intern is out of urgent care and I hope for a speedy recovery. That’s awful.

      As for the ruptured eardrum – so sorry. Let us know details when you can. I imagine that’s pretty painful and unpleasant.

      Didn’t you find the seals on the beach horribly smelly?

      • Moles says:

        They are also a shark’s favorite meal. Please don’t swim with them…

      • 40Watt says:

        ” I am happy to hear the intern is out of urgent care and I hope for a speedy recovery.”
        I wrote that very late last night. I realized this am I had read this wrongly and it was son who was out of urgent care. I hope he is a bit better,

        RIP Matt Shlonsky. My condolences to your family and friends. Another tragic, senseless killing. My heart is heavy.

  2. pvaz says:

    Is your son there in San Diego on a work visa or some sort of water visa?

  3. vegaslib says:

    La Jolla is gorgeous. I used to take my daughter there when she was younger, for a day at the beach. Enjoy!!!

  4. Pete says:

    Glad you’re having fun! Finally made it to Tyrone, Pa. to visit my sister. Spent yesterday in her swimming pool and got to eat a Houser’s Hoagie, it was delicious!! heading back to NYC tomorrow so I didn’t have time to locate the Tyrone, city sign so unfortunately no photo op! Sorry but the swimming pool has been my only priority!!

  5. MrsGunka says:

    So sorry for your son’s friend. I don’t think son will be scuba diving for a while. Hope his Irish Healthcare covers him here. Are the spiders making a huge migration to the ocean for a drink of water….you got in the way! Hope you are using a lot of lotion to keep your beautiful hydrated skin from flaking off. Sea water dries it out too. Hope brother and sister are having a good time too. Just hanging and talking! Can’t wait to see your pictures!

  6. DelMartian says:

    If you get up the coast a little way to Del Mar, I’ll buy you guys lunch.

Leave a Reply

