The Arrest Of Sandra Bland

A partial transcript of the police dashboard video showing the arrest of Sandra Bland, the Illinois woman who was later found dead in a Texas jail.

———AP

As the video begins, trooper Brian Encinia has a routine exchange with Bland when he takes her driver’s license. After he goes back to her car and returns the license, the conversation grows heated:

TROOPER: “You OK?”

BLAND: “I’m waiting on you. This is your job. I’m waiting on you. What do you want me to do?”

TROOPER: “You seem very irritated.”

BLAND: “I am. I really am. Because of what I’ve been stopped and am getting a ticket for. I’ve been getting out of the way. You’ve been speeding up, so I move over and you stop me. So yeah, I am a little irritated. But that didn’t stop you from giving me a ticket.”

TROOPER: “Are you done?”

BLAND: “You asked me what was wrong and I told you. So now I’m done, yeah.”

TROOPER: “OK, OK.”

(Pause)

TROOPER: “Do you mind putting out your cigarette, please?”

BLAND: “I’m in my car. Why do I have to put out my cigarette?”

TROOPER: “Well, you can step out now.”

BLAND: “I don’t have to step on out.”

TROOPER: “Step out of the car.”

(He opens the driver’s side door.)

BLAND: “No, you don’t have the right.”

TROOPER: “Step out of the car!”

BLAND: “You don’t have the right to do that.”

TROOPER: “I do have the right. Now step out or I’ll remove you.”

BLAND: “I am getting removed for failure to signal?”

TROOPER: “Step out or I’ll remove you. I’m giving you a lawful order. Get out of the car now or I’m going to remove you.”

BLAND: “I’m calling my lawyer.”

TROOPER: “I’m going to yank you out of here.”

BLAND: “OK, you’re going to yank me out of the car?”

TROOPER: “Get out!” (reaching into the car)

BLAND: “Don’t touch me!”

TROOPER: “Get out of the car!”

BLAND: “Don’t touch me. I am not under arrest. You don’t have the right to touch me.”

TROOPER: “You are under arrest.”

BLAND: “I’m under arrest for what?”

(Trooper radios for backup.)

TROOPER: “Get out of the car! Get out of the car now!”

BLAND: “Am I being apprehended? Did you try to give me a ticket?”

TROOPER: “Get out of the car!”

BLAND: “Why am I being apprehended? You done opened my car door. So you’re going to drag me out of my own car?”

TROOPER: “Get out of the car! I will light you up! Get out!”

BLAND: (Stepping out, holding phone) “Wow. Wow. You’re doing all this for a failure to signal?”

TROOPER: “Get over there!” (Directing her to the side of the road)

BLAND: “Right. Yeah, let’s take this to court.”

TROOPER: “Get off the phone!”

BLAND: “I’m off the phone. I’m making a record.”

TROOPER: “Put the phone down.”

(Now off-camera)

BLAND: “Are you feeling good about yourself? Are you feeling good about yourself? For a failure to signal, you’re feeling good about yourself.”

TROOPER: “Turn around. Turn around now! Put your hands behind your back and turn around now!”

That bastard goaded her the whole time. She was calm and respectful until she got out of the car by which time I would imagine she was feeling very frightened. I know I would have been. And didn’t they state that she was arrested because she assaulted him? Yet he told her when she was inside the car that she was under arrest. The whole scenario was just awful. He escalated the situation at every turn. It was awful to watch that video and then listen to him talk to his supervisor(?), clearly trying to justify his actions and the arrest.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Arrest Of Sandra Bland

  1. 40Watt says:

    Yes, it was awful. Fortunately, no sane people are saying anything other than it was awful.

    “I will light you up!” he says, while apparently threatening her with a taser – what for? – declining to put out her cigarette? I wouldn’t have agreed to get out of the car either. It was a traffic violation, for heaven’s sake and it sounds as though she was saying she made the lane change to get out of his way as he was speeding up.

  2. 40Watt says:

    Just one day after Sandra Bland was found dead in her jail cell in Texas, another young black woman, Kindra Chapman, was found in eerily similar circumstances in a jail cell in Alabama.

    The 18-year-old was arrested July 14 on accusations she stole a cell phone, according to AL.com. She was booked just before 6:30 p.m. and found unresponsive in her cell at 7:50 p.m. Like Bland, authorities have blamed Chapman’s death on suicide by hanging. Like Bland, Chapman’s family said the teen had a full and happy life and do not believe she committed suicide. Like Bland, Black Lives Matter activists have joined her family in demanding answers.

    http://www.rawstory.com/2015/07/one-day-after-sandra-blands-death-18-year-old-kindra-chapman-was-found-dead-in-jail/

    • MrsGunka says:

      When is this racial insanity going to stop. Then edit the video cam to make them look better. They’ve lost their cocka-may-me minds!

    • Meanwhile, in other stomach-turning racist news:

      “Ex-Cop To Fundraise In Blackface For Officers In Freddie Gray Case (VIDEO)”

      Excerpt:

      “Berger got into a legal battle with the department after it ordered him to stop performing in blackface in 1982, when members of the local chapter of the NAACP complained to police officials and picketed one of Berger’s scheduled performances at a downtown hotel. Berger sued to have the department lift the on his blackface performances, but was fired when he refused to drop the act after losing his case in 1984.”

      (snip)

      “The former officer has performed over the years as Al Jolsen, the vaudeville icon who is best known for his blackface performance of the song ‘Mammy’ in the 1927 film ‘The Jazz Singer.’ Berger told the Sun that he believes there isn’t ‘one iota of racial overtones’ in his Jolsen bit.”

      http://talkingpointsmemo.com/news/bobby-berger-blackface-freddie-gray

      Blackface … to raise funds … for cops charged … with killing a black man …????

      What — the Baltimore park service turned down his application for a lynching permit or something?!?!?

      Well … (sigh) … at least America is still #1 in SOMEthing: “Country Owing the Rest of the World the Highest Number of Apologies”!

      U-Ass-A … U-Ass-A …

      • 40Watt says:

        Thank you for posting this Polly – horrible and mind-boggling, as it is.

        I saw the story late last night and, at that point in the day, I couldn’t face it – no pun intended. Yet, it has to be faced – all of it, the blatantly racist together with the behavior we are assured has not ‘one iota of racial overtones’ in it.

Leave a Reply

