Saturday Morning Photos

I woke very early this morning. Hubby was getting ready to drive to N. Ireland for a walk in preparation for his trip to India in August. He will be walking some mountain there!

Anyway, the sun was shining and I grabbed my camera…

_MG_0281_MG_0284_MG_0287_MG_0306_MG_0299_MG_0313_MG_0317I forgot to take a pic of my chillies. We spell it with a double l here! You have to look closely, but they are there. I am thrilled.

_MG_0326 copyI’m still waiting for my cherry tomatoes to appear…sigh.

I zoomed in and cropped one of the photos above. I love the texture.

_MG_0287 copy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Saturday Morning Photos

  1. irishgirl999 says:

    Sometimes, the little things in life give you the greatest pleasure.

    • lindak1961 says:

      So true! Lovely pictures, IG.

      I have a busy day ahead, but it will be fun. After breakfast, I’m going to Daddy’s to meet my daughter, grandson and SIL, and we are all going to see the house they are hoping to buy. This afternoon, Daddy and I will be going to Black Mountain, near Asheville, to have dinner with some of my cousins. They are staying at a bed and breakfast this weekend, and invited us up for dinner.

  2. Pearl says:

    Hey look at those Hala Trees! You live in County Cork? 🙂

    • irishgirl999 says:

      Exotic Dublin. 😉

    • MrsGunka says:

      Are what you call Hala Trees what I am calling Palm Trees? Are there “pretend” Palm Trees? We just got two Windmill Palms that are shorter and fatter with big spit leaves that spread out and look like the blades of a windmill….get about 14 ft. tall and will survive down to -10 F. They are from the low mountains of Japan/China. We were laughing that with the “Climate Change” our streets may be lined with Palm trees in the near future! My S-I-L found these and sent them to us. They sure are liking our wet, hot weather this summer. They are right by a pot with a pineapple growing on the patio. Next to a Bird Of Paradise that is about 3 foot tall! My living room will look very tropical this winter! We will see how they fair in out Rocky Mountain Mt. winter. I will probably bring them in this year as they are only about 2 feet tall now. Those two tall Palm-looking trees made my eyes pop when you had a picture in your back yard a few weeks ago. Those are really tall! Surely you get below freezing in Ireland??????

      • irishgirl999 says:

        I don’t know if you saw my reply to you last week. They are Cordyline trees, apparently from Hawaii! Also and too, freezing weather kills them. We had crazy weather back in 2010, but our guys survived. I read a few days ago when I was looking it up that some man walked around the Dublin suburbs after the 2010 freeze and all of the Cordylines had perished.

        My son is going to Colorado in October for a month working. I’ll get him to pop in and have a look at your living room. 🙂

      • Pearl says:

        Yes! In Hawaii we called those Hala Trees. They may not be exactly like those but they look like the same family.

      • Pearl says:

        Just saw your comment irishgirl. I thought they were Hawaiian Halas, woohoo!

  3. Your oasis looks so cool and inviting. Very pretty. Our summer is so hot and dry, daily watering is a necessity to my plants survival – – and something I’m not good about at the end of the day. I do have an evergreen Camilla in a pot that’s blooming right now and a Magnolia at my work (here in the Pac. NW.) I was in scent heaven last week. I have more Camillas coming on, but the Magnolia may be bloomed out.
    My weekend is the relief of a huge weight – – – little granddaughter who turns 1 this week had a spinal surgery at our Childrens Hospital yesterday. MRIs were never clear on what they would find or how long the surgery would be. The surgery itself was just 2 hours and the issue was handled. I didn’t expect to see her, but when we had the opportunity the little Miss Missy was alert (though still doped up), smile on her face and waving to the people gathered around her hospital crib. Talk about a ‘happy place’ memory to have as my new ‘go to.’

    • irishgirl999 says:

      Yay for your granddaughter. She sounds like a fighter. Sending good vibes her way.

    • Pearl says:

      I’m so jealous! Magnolia blossoms are one of my favorite things to smell. I just love their lovely citrus scent. Been searching my whole life for a perfume or oil that smells like they do but haven’t been successful. My ultimate fantasy would be to own homes in all the growing zones so I could have gardens at all of them because I love so many different types of plants. I grew so much in Hawaii. Then I moved to Alaska which I can grow things I never could there but of course I miss a lot of the things I grew in the tropics. I brought tropicals with me when I moved here but of course they’re all houseplants and not as happy as they could be if they were back on Kauai but I’m glad I have them still.

  4. MrsGunka says:

    We would be most happy to have him stop in! Wish his mother would accompany him also, too! Now I’m getting excited about having him come to visit. Promise I won’t make him a cowboy! He may want to stay for the winter skiing! It’s contagious!

  5. titlewave says:

    I love your photography, and loving the moodiness of these colors. Yes, the texture of the basket photo is great- both cropped and uncropped

  6. PalinsHoax says:

    Your photos soothed my eyes and heart. Thank you Irish Girl!

    What is your secret of keeping table top and patio floor so spotless? I no sooner clean mine, then there’s another leaf dropped onto the surface, there’s another nodule of Mother Nature’s drifting into the vicinity.

  7. Tumbleweed1 says:

    So love all of these pics, Irishgirl. Soothes the soul.
    You are incredibly talented. Thank you for sharing with the rest of us.

  8. roxiemax2 says:

    I love these pictures- they are beautiful. You are a wonderful photographer !! ☺

Leave a Reply

