A Blast From The Past

I logged onto the national Irish news site this morning and this headline caught my eye.

Three attractions saw over 1m visitors in 2014

0007ae51-642

The Guinness Storehouse in Dublin remains the most visited fee-paying attraction in Ireland while the National Gallery of Ireland is the most popular free attraction.

Fáilte Ireland this morning published its annual list of Ireland’s top visitor attractions.

Over 1.2 million people visited the Guinness Storehouse last year, which was an increase of over 100,000 from 2013.

The storehouse was followed by the Cliffs of Moher Visitor Experience and Dublin Zoo, which both registered just over 1m paying visitors in 2014.

The National Gallery of Ireland remained the most visited free to enter attraction.

Doneraile Wildlife Park entered the list for the first time. It ranked as the third most visited free attraction in 2014, with 460,000 visitors.

Whooah, I thought to myself. This is fecking amazing. You see, when we moved from Australia to Ireland back in 1974, where do you think we ended up – Doneraile. It’s not too surprising in view of the fact that my parents came from the area.

We actually were only supposed to stay in Ireland for one year. My mother undertook the task of transporting five kids under thirteen to the Emerald Isle. We travelled by ocean liner and it took us one month to get to England. We were on the very bottom of the ship – we hadn’t a penny to our name. But it was fecking amazing!! We stopped in Wellington, NZ; Tahiti – swam on the beach with black sand where Marlon Brando filmed Mutiny on the Bounty. My mother (who couldn’t swim) watched in horror as we all swam towards the horizon…

I think the next stop was Panama. Yes, we went through the Panama Canal, and that was fecking amazing too. We also stopped in Curacao where we lost my brother briefly. I can still remember him roaring with fright. 🙂

Then onto the Azores and finally we docked in Southampton, England. On arrival, my poor mother discovered that none of the many boxes that she had packed had made it onto the ship. I should have realised at that stage that she had no intention of returning to Australia. You live and learn.

We ended up staying for a few days in London with a friend of mums. We saw colour TV for the first time! And we then flew to Cork in Ireland. First time in a plane also and too. We ended up in Doneraile. Unfortunately, all mum’s plans regarding accommodation fell through and we had to rent some really awful places for a year. Think fleas and mice and not a bathtub in sight. It was great fun.

After a year and a half, my mother informed my father, who was still in Australia working, that no, we weren’t coming back to Oz. Dad sold the house and came over to Doneraile. I can still remember being fecking amazed at his Australian accent.

By that time, my mother had purchased a local drapery shop. I remember that it cost 9,000 pounds. It didn’t make any money and contributed to her high blood pressure but the house was fecking amazing.

It was huge. It had no central heating and some of the floor was rotten. You could see down into the next floor in one room. It was three stories high, and every weekend mum made me hoover (vacuum) the stairs. I also had to do all the family washing in a twin tub. Yay for automatic washing machines. That woman worked me to death.

I’m sort of digressing from my original point. We had a private entrance to Doneraile Park. I spent my life there from 13-18. I jumped into the Awbeg River after my final school exams and nearly drowned.  I am a strong swimmer, but never wear a coat while swimming.

I had my first kiss there by “Our Lady’s Well.” I didn’t see stars.

Doneraile was my teenage years. We spent our summers and winters there. No drink, no drugs, just the occasional romance and swimming in the river.

When dad was 65, he decided to put a new roof on the house. Three stories high!!!! I couldn’t watch as dad and my brother scampered about on the roof.

Anyway, Mum and Dad sold the house about 18 years ago. The new residents have made the following improvements…

img377 copy 2

img378

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Blast From The Past

  1. irishgirl999 says:

    It was featured in a magazine.

  2. 40Watt says:

    What a great story and what a wonderful childhood! Thank you so much for this treat.

    Re. the amazing house and the “improvements”. A realtor once said to me, “real estate is the only thing that can definitely be improved with money.” Maybe so, but memories are more precious by far.

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    I had the most fantastic childhood. I know it and appreciate it now.

  4. That’s really something. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  5. 40Watt says:

    I read your story aloud to Mr 40Watt. You have enchanted many people today, I’m thinking. 💝

  6. lindak1961 says:

    Sounds like wonderful memories! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Pearl says:

    What a lovely story, brought a tear to my eye, darling.

  8. MrsGunka says:

    What a wonderful trip and teenage years! I love your Mum for the fine gal she raised. Love the house. Must have been hard to part with it! Thanks for sharing IG!

  9. irishgirl999 says:

    In 1988, I took my father to America to visit his sister. She had left Ireland when he was eight
    and she was sixteen That is another story!

    My father hated George Bush!!

  10. irishgirl999 says:

    I think you guys would have loved my father. Best left for another day.

  11. abbafan says:

    Hello Irish! Thank you for the wonderful trip down memory lane!I guess I can relate to how you feel. My late parents purchased our family homestead in 1954, five years after they got married after emigrating here to Canada after the war. All five of us kids still can recall many fond memories of those years spent there. Me and my older sister sold the place in 2009; it was a mutual decision since we are getting older, and I find it hard to maintain two places, including my own. However, unlike my older siblings, I have never gone back to see what it looks like now. If subsequent owners made changes, that is their business. Perhaps it may seem odd, but I prefer to remember it how it looked like when I left after it was sold.

Leave a Reply

