Fuck Regulations – Who Needs Them?

berkeley-balcony-collapse

Outraged families of the Berkeley victims have slammed the New York Times for their “disgraceful” and “insensitive” article.

Erin Flynn, who is a sister of injured Conor Flynn, and Sheila Sharma, first cousin of the late Eimear Walsh, said they were disgusted by the piece which appeared on Wednesday.

The article entitled “Deaths of Irish Students in Berkeley Balcony Collapse Cast Pall on Program” was posted on the American newspaper’s website, accompanied by a picture of inspectors on a crane assessing the balcony.

It sparked fury after it claimed the J1 visa programme was a “source of embarrassment” for Ireland.

Berkeley balcony collapse: New York Times apologises for ‘insensitive’ article on tragedy

In a letter to the New York Times editor, Erin wrote: “I am absolutely appalled after reading the article on the Berkeley incident in your newspaper.

“Let me introduce myself, I am an Irish student, I am a sister to one of the INNOCENT boys involved and I am friends with others involved.

“How dare you. How insensitive of you. You should be ashamed of yourselves to imply that because they were drinking they should be to blame for YOUR country’s poor engineering, I am disgusted.

“I write this on the way to the airport with my crying mum, how dare you make our hurt any worse?

“You should be apologising, not writing a cheap article misinforming an entire nation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fuck Regulations – Who Needs Them?

  1. 1smartcanerican™ says:

    I must say that the American news organizations are extremely proficient at blaming the victim for everything! Alcohol had absolutely nothing to do with this terrible incident; American engineering and lack of oversight is to blame!

    My heart goes out to all the family members grieving over their children. Please accept my condolences. My heart aches for you.

  2. 40Watt says:

    I know it’s irrational, but I feel I have to apologize for the way what was once a decent US newspaper treated these young people, their families, and the whole Irish community who are in mourning for their own, their children. I am deeply saddened and so very, very sorry.

  3. MrsGunka says:

    Son and I have been discussing that picture! I believe they said the apartments were 9 years old. It’s California that has been in a drought for 7 years and knowing what beetle damage looks like I would say they bought some real bad wood with dry rot and some black mold from sitting too long. The inside of that wood looked like saw dust! Buy cheap and charge for best quality. American Exceptionalism! I am so sorry this happened. Rotting wood has nothing to do with the work program! Chances are any person living in that apartment might have some drinks and go out on that balcony at a birthday party and not be Irish.

  4. lindak1961 says:

    {{Hugs}} IrishGirl.

  5. irishgirl999 says:

    Hugs back to you Linda. I know you have had a very dark week in SC too. I just didn’t have the energy to talk about it.

    I can only take so many needless deaths.

Leave a Reply

