Gardening Tips And Whatnot

Whilst I await the next blow-out from the Palin clan, I have decided to share my gardening wisdom with y’all.

Before I do that, I must show you the pic of the cake I made for my daughter’s 18th birthday.

I_MG_0051_1I do try. I was busy googling how to ice and shit like that. It actually tasted tres good.

Darling daughter’s friend brought along this cake…

_MG_0055_1Heh, this girl has talent! I was shamed.

_MG_0080_1If you don’t want weeds to grow between your slabs….douse them with salt. 😉

_MG_0058Reward anything that grows.

_MG_0070_1My  sole remaining pumpkin…

_MG_0060_1

My Morning Glory. Slowly dying… It has been wet, windy and very cold here in May. Has anyone got Mitch McConnell’s phone number?

_MG_0064My little green house that I bought in Aldi.

I also bought a whole load of Mexican plates and tapas bowls in Aldi the other night. I hid them in the boot (trunk) of the car because I feared dear husband might not understand my penchant for all things Mexican.

I took them up to my daughter’s room to hide them. She laughed. And she said are you going to introduce them slowly.

That is what a good mother is all about. I have trained her well. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Gardening Tips And Whatnot

  1. lindak1961 says:

    I like both cakes! Very clever. As for me, I order at the bakery, unless the birthday person doesn’t mind just cake and icing and no decorations.

  2. irishgirl999 says:

    I had made a mess of my son’s cake earlier in the month and was determined to make something that was edible. It worked…we are still eating the “ones.” Num num.

  3. ProfessorCanine says:

    Dayum!
    The taco cake is awesome.

    Mexican food,eh?

  4. PVAZ says:

    What did you do, throw the icing on the cake, also too, I notice your block wall is in need of a coat of paint.

  5. Yeah – – forget about the invasiveness of morning glories. I don’t think you have to worry.

  6. MrsGunka says:

    Sounds like you are having CO weather. 40 F/5 C rain, rain, rain! Love the green house! What was in the “18” cake? CA still on schedule? Lot’s of Mexican food there. CO has a lot too! 🙂

  7. irishgirl999 says:

    I love my little green house – first time trying to grow cherry tomatoes. They seem to be doing ok so far. I also have chillies in there too. Pepper seedlings are still in the house.

    For the one, I used this recipe. http://lifesafeast.blogspot.ie/2009/01/blow-out-candles-and-make-wish.html I got it from Jamie. She is an old Mudflatter who started a food blog and has now bought a hotel in France!

    For the eight, I used this recipe. http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/chocolate_bundt_cake/
    I didn’t bother with the bourbon, I just added extra coffee. This woman is my go to girl for recipes. She runs a hugely successful food blog. She lives in CA and has some lovely Mexican recipes.

    And yes, CA is still on schedule – the beginning of August!!

  8. MrsGunka says:

    I have loved all your recipes and links! That’s so funny to see your love of Mexican food. When we started to have our exchange students, they fell in love with Mexican food. They would have a whole suitcase with fixing for Mexican food…..cans of refried beans, bags of pinto beans, tortillas, salsa, jalapeno chili’s, sugar coated wheat puffs, marshmallows and dried pineapple! The next time we went over they said they could now get everything in Germany. Result of all the exchange students getting addicted to it over here! 🙂 Bet Walmart was the first place that carried it in Germany. Do all your stores have it now? Any Mexican restaurants there yet? I dry a lot of the hot peppers too. Easier than always having to buy fresh. Both sweet and hot peppers.

  9. irishgirl999 says:

    We can pretty much get all of that stuff over here in the shops, but there are certain things that are impossible. I found a Mexican woman online who imports tomatillos, achiote paste and chipotle into Dublin – I died and went to heaven. Crippled son discovered my store of Mexican goods and proceeded to pour them lavishly on his food when I wasn’t looking.

    There was hell to pay when I went looking for my tomatillo sauce for a recipe only to find an empty bottle… I won’t tell you how he hurt his knee!!! 🙂

  10. Excellent cake decorating!!

    You might get a kick out of some of the less-successful attempts at CakeWrecks.com … f”rinstance:

    http://static1.1.sqspcdn.com/static/f/920827/26174611/1430109440433/10710906-26174610-thumbnail.jpg?token=3qDDgrwdqo2A4a4U%2BmLcotFDPR4%3D

    http://www.cakewrecks.com/

Leave a Reply

