The White House Correspondents’ Dinner

I posted this before I watched it. I haven’t had such a good belly laugh in a long time. Your prez was wonderful and very, very funny.

And yes, I threw the previous post into the trash.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The White House Correspondents’ Dinner

  1. uberduck says:

    What a coincidence — I too have a bucket list!

  2. I love our President and his family and have great gratitude for the true servant’s heart that he and his family exemplify. The public hatred and disrespect that they have dealt with over the last 8 years is something no family should have to live with on a daily basis. The sacrifices they have made far outweigh the perks of the office in my opinion.

    I’m rather sorry you took down yesterday’s post. Raw emotion is usually true emotion and it, like the posts that told the story, were all difficult to read. Over the years I’ve sung the song “I’m Proud to be an American” more times then I’d like. It’s not my favorite patriotic song by any means as to me it seems like an anthem that means very different things to folks on the left or the right. When you visit the West coast this summer, with all the bottled water that you can bring in your extra bag, just know that many proud Americans are equally heartbroken by the violence and self serving agendas in our country today. Public protests are keeping the issues in the national news, but are bringing with them violent acts, possibly from outside agitators. I guess we continue to be a work in progress. Hopefully that progress will lead to an America that truly is the land of the free and the home of the brave for everyone – – and that each and every citizen will be able to vote from their heart in each and every election on the local and national level.

    On a ridiculous level, Stars Wars William Shatner has a plan to offset the California drought by piping water from the Seattle – Puget Sound area to California. A stoopid idea on so many levels, but even more so in the lack of Shatner’s knowledge of climate change up and down the West coast. In Washington state we have experienced an unusually mild and snow-absent winter. The glaciers are receding on Mount Rainer and the ski area’s have experienced a devastating snowless season. Water conservation plans are being generated by cities and the fear of an early season of wildfires across the state is very real. The infamous rainy weather on the west side of our state can’t make a dent in that water shortage caused by the lack of snowfall at higher elevations. I’m seriously thinking of putting a rain barrel or two under my downspouts.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      Thank you for that comment. I’ll have a look after dinner and see if I can retrieve it from the trash. I feel so angry. I still cannot believe that they broke a man’s spine.

      • I wrote a response to your post last night, but ultimately didn’t hit send because I just couldn’t put all my thoughts into coherent text. A sidelight of the brutality for me is also that these were bicycle officers. Where I live our bike cops wear a dual community liaison hat, at least in my understanding of their role. They patrol and deescalate incidents, etc., but also are there to provide a positive outreach and engagement with citizens. How that translates into brutality is hard to me to fathom.

        Secondly, there’s a ‘boys will be boys’ and ‘old boys’ mindset in our nation that’s evolving, but painfully slow. The military incorporates both of those mindsets and is very Republican in their beliefs. Many of our police and firefighters come from those ranks. The ‘right’ thinking of these folks has always surprised me, as the public servant-ness of the occupations seems like one where looking after ones fellow man would employ folks that tend more to the left. I have sons and have never given them the opportunity to pull the ‘boys will be boys’ card – – – that one just doesn’t exist in my world.

      • irishgirl999 says:

        Yes, yes and yes. I dug through the trash and found the post. The Baltimore Pigs are now back.

        I had to do it for Freddie. Thank you again.

  3. lindak1961 says:

    I just watched the speech and loved it. President Obama has a great sense of humor and is now unshackled because he can’t run for president again.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I loved the angry bit at the end. 🙂

      • lindak1961 says:

        That was the best part!

      • irishgirl999 says:

        I just watched it again, and it gets even better! I loved the Joe Biden/pizza joke too. My son and my husband had both watched it before I did. They didn’t get some of the jokes, not being political junkies, but they highly recommended it.

        I watched it at my leisure and I kept guffawing. They kept racing in to see which part I was watching.

        The best part was taking a look at Mediaite today. The RWNJs were positively frothing at the mouth. They are a sour lot! 😉

  4. Scarsdale says:

    I LOVE our President and the entire family. Really liked the joke about Cheney being the worst president – so true. Lumpy little Johnny Mac on the WH lawn was good too. Old fart thought he was qualified to live there. Cindy said “I think the American people are ready for a REAL American family to reside in the WH” By REAL I assume she meant White and Rich? Lumpy little Johnny was asked what he considers middle class and he said “People making $5 MILLION a year”!! He is running AGAIN in Arizona. Does Cindy buy the elections for him, to keep him away from her, I wonder.? The voters in this country are either stupid, uninformed or just plain brainwashed. All the gop/tp candidates are crooked, dumb, and totally unqualified. Since Dubya was placed into the office twice, they think they should get their turn. After all, it does not take BRAINS to do what Dubya did, does it? Carly Fiorina looks like she should be running in the Kentucky Derby, rather than the WH contest. Horse faced job exporter.

Leave a Reply

