Fighting Fire With Fire

bristol_3233096bI haven’t really discussed the Palin/Meyer merger because I don’t really think it’s going to affect the world one way or another. Nor do I think this sorry union will even get to the altar or whatevah. And if by chance they do get there – it won’t last. Mark my words, you don’t get involved with a Palin and walk away from it unscathed.

By the same token, Dakota Meyer is not to be reckoned with either.

Courtesy of a review of Meyer’s book on Amazon:

INTO THE FIRE, by Dakota Meyer and Bing West, while certainly well-written and meticulously documented, in the end failed to really engage me as a reader. There are two reasons for this. One is that CO-authored books, to my mind, can never quite match the reality or the authenticity of a true memoir – i.e. one written solely by its subject/narrator. In that respect, INTO THE FIRE, simply did not quite ring true. By this I do not mean that I did not believe Meyer’s story. I mean that I could not stop thinking that his story had been carefully organized and scrubbed by a talented and professional writer (Bing West), and I also kept wondering how much of the substantiating research about the Afghan war and the host country, not to mention the notes and timeline – all the stuff that ‘fleshes out’ a story about a single battle that lasted less than one day – had been dug out and skillfully addended by West.

The second reason I had trouble with Meyer’s story is more difficult to explain. But I’ll try. Samuel Hynes, a writer I have the highest admiration for (who was, incidentally, a combat veteran of WWII, and whose memoir, FLIGHTS OF PASSAGE, is a minor classic), once told me that one of the most important ingredients to a successful story is a likeable narrator. Much as I wanted to like Meyer, I couldn’t. My problem with this began early, in the Introduction, when Meyer described his team, ending with, “The others were looking to do their jobs and return home; I was looking for a fight.” And just a few pages later, still in the Intro, he describes his first ‘kill’ –

“I aim the gun. I’m a sniper; shooting is technique. No emotion … I fire burst after burst, walking the tracers up the slope. I hit hislegs first, then his back. I keep shooting until I’m tearing up a corpse. I rip through two hundred rounds …”

This is followed by joking with his team members, no introspection, no sense of the enormity of the taking of life. And this is pretty typical of the strong, silent macho ‘cowboy’ attitude Meyer displays through most of the book. He relents only slightly when he tells of his subsequent and reluctant treatment for PTSD.

As the person who alerted me to this said…this guy is a psychopath. I tend to agree.

Dakota and Tripp in Kentucky

And that is why this little consolidation could end in tragedy.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fighting Fire With Fire

  1. MrsGunka says:

    This story writes itself. I doubt there will ever be “…….and they lived happily ever after.”

  2. RJ40 says:

    What kind of sick fuck needs weapons like this? Then teaching a six year old child to shoot such a thing??? I agree…this will not end well.

  3. Pete says:

    Of course this ain’t gonna end well, it’s is an arranged marriage courtesy of Mama Grizzly. Look, these two didn’t meet by happenstance and fall in love. They met because Sarah Palin made it happen. She introduced them as soon as she realized it would be extremely beneficial for her political grift to have Dakota join the family. C’mon! Sarah bought the engagement ring for fucks sake. You don’t pay for the engagement ring unless you are pushing for the engagement to happen. They have barely spent any time together as a couple away from her family. This is a business arrangement contracted by Sarah Palin. Sarah get’s her war hero son in law, Dakota gets Palin’s contacts, he’s gotta take advantage off of the lucrative American Sniper movie and peddle the movie rights to his book ASAP. And Bristol finally gets to be married. Everyone wins!

    Except for Tripp. He’s not going to be happy in Kentucky, the poor guy’s gonna lock himself in the closet and he’ll never be free to come out. LOL! I jest of course, I’m not saying he’s gay, but seriously, if a semi automatic weapon can’t butch up that kid…

  4. Scarsdale says:

    6 months with Bristles and $carah will make the fight for the MOH seem like a walk in the park. These vicious skanks fight to the death. Look what they have put Levi and Sunny through. Bristles tried to bribe Levi to make an appearance on her failed reality show, and he turned her down. He does not want tainted money. I am sure this “love affair” is strictly for a reality show, they film everything. Neither Bristles nor Dakota have sparkling personalities, and she has failed already at trying to make it on TV. Any producer who would buy this pap has to be brain dead. Wait until Trippy calls Dakota a “faggot” and see if he laughs like his mother and aunt Willing did.

  5. Family secrets reveal themselves eventually as I’ve discovered in doing ancestry research. I grew up with both grandmothers living with us – – one until I was 8 and the other until I was 17. (Oh, if only I hadn’t been a child – – so many questions I now have to ask them.) What I learned in my 50’s was gleaned from a Google search that revealed Oct. 1883 archived Minnesota newspaper articles that had been transcribed and posted online.

    My 10 year old grandfather’s story: “A sad and fatal accident happened to an eight year old son of Mrs. ______ on Tuesday. His brother, aged ten, took a loaded gun and started down the path where the little fellow was playing and when only a short distance away the gun was accidentally discharged, the contents striking the boy in the back killing him instantly.” From another paper: For some time past Joseph ____ of London, Egn., has been visiting his sister, Mrs. ____ in Ida. Last Tuesday he came in from a hunting expedition, and set down his loaded gun in the house. It was picked up by ____, his cousin, about 11 years old, and by some accident the gun went off while in his hands, the full charge passing into the back of his little brother, aged about 8 years, causing instant death. The mother and uncle and family are almost distracted wtih the accumulation of sorrows. Three of the family gone within six months.” In January 1883, the father (my great grandfather) and a young adult son had died – – father from illness, son from suicide by hanging. In April 1884, my grandfather’s two little sisters died from diptheria within days of each other. Later in 1907, as a father himself, my grandfather’s 4 year old daughter also died from illness.

    My grandfather was a successful pharmacist and drugstore owner, who passed away before I was born. How did his life history with so much heartache change his life? How much of this information was my father aware of? Did he have firearms in his home growing up? I know that he was raised in a home where windows were never opened for fresh air, due to the belief that the air brought in illness. Other questions I’ll never know the answer to as my dad passed away from MS when I was 14 – – his MS symptoms took away his ability to speak.

Leave a Reply

