I Want A Vegemite Sandwich

I come from the land down under.

invertedI had a serious case of wanting a vegemite sandwich today.

vegI opened the cupboard and found a jar of Marmite.  I had already scraped it clean years ago, but I was desperate. I happened to look at the best before date….it was 2003.

I ate it anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to I Want A Vegemite Sandwich

  1. Tumbleweed1 says:

    That is some scary shit right there.
    I thought I was bad.

  2. Tumbleweed1 says:

    Sooo…not only is Irish food bland…it’ll clog your arteries and flat out kill you. Do I have that right?
    Ummm….I’m backing up my visit….no reflection on YOU, Irishgirl. *cough*
    🙂

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    You take your life in your hands when you visit me.

  4. Tumbleweed1 says:

    Thanks for telling it to me straight, IG.

  5. ProfessorCanine says:

    Traveling in a fried-out Kombi
    On a hippie trail, head full of zombie
    I met a strange lady, she made me nervous
    She took me in and gave me breakfast
    And she said

    “Do you come from a land down under?
    Where women glow and men plunder?
    Can’t you hear, can’t you hear the thunder?
    You better run, you better take cover”

    Buying bread from a man in Brussels
    He was six foot four and full of muscles
    I said, “Do you speak-a my language?”
    He just smiled and gave me a Vegemite sandwich

    Men At Work
    “Down Under”

  6. Moles says:

    Shall I send you a jar? 🙂

  7. Tumbleweed1 says:

    Snort!

  8. Tumbleweed1 says:

    I’ve been googling insurance for Vegemite but I’m having trouble finding coverage.

  9. irishgirl999 says:

    My kindle just .makes up words. !!!!!

  10. irishgirl999 says:

    I use my PC during the day. Kindle at night. It always goes overboard and tries to kill you if you say anything remotely sane. It doesn’t’ t like big words.

  11. Tumbleweed1 says:

    Well we do NOW.

  12. psminidivapa says:

    Can get Marmite in central PA (clinging to guns and religion territory). (How feckin crazy is that??) We could have provided such if you needed it last summer.

  13. MrsGunka says:

    Are you sure you are from Australia? You map is backasswards! NZ and Fiji are on the right and above you on my globe…..been there done that! Better have the lab check the jar you were licking out. It may cause hallucinations…….maybe you were standing on your head to adjust that neck when you assembled the map or had your I-pad upside down? Time to go to bed….I might be the one hallucinating?

  14. PalinsHoax says:

    Vegemite – an acquired taste – not for the faint hearted. I raise my phantom jar in toast to you, Irish Girl!

  15. MrsGunka says:

    How are the hangovers this morning?

  16. lindak1961 says:

    Thanks for the laugh, IG!

  17. lindak1961 says:

    Thanks for the laugh IG!

  18. OK, so I was reading this post, and I vaguely remember trying Vegemite when I was younger… and pitching it in the trash. So, anyway – I know Aussie’s are mad for Vegemite, so there’s got to be something to it, right? OK… so, I started googling… and found this very well-written article:

    http://benstarr.com/blog/the-truth-about-vegemite-from-an-american-foodie/

    P.S. – Read the comments, too. Now, I feel much more confident about using Vegemite. I’m going to the store TOMORROW and getting a jar. I love that “savory” flavor that seems to be missing from home cooking… will advise on my first dish with it!

    • irishgirl999 says:

      Oh thanks for the link. I have never tried it like that. I just love it on toast. I too will have to locate a jar of it. I couldn’t find it at the shop during the week but I will persevere.

  19. Well… finally got around to getting my jar of Vegemite… OMG – it is THE BOMB.

    I spread it thinly on buttered whole grain toast – Mmmm… I’d describe the taste as “meaty” & full-bodied. I happen to get frequent gout attacks, so I can’t overdo it. I bought it mostly to add that restaurant-quality / flavor to meat sauces, gravies, stews & roasts, for the “savory” taste that’s hard to get at home. But THANK YOU for this post; something old to me is now new & improved!

Leave a Reply

