Milestones

It is a wild and blustery day here in the Emerald Isle. The gusts are ferocious and if there is one thing I hate – it is the wind. It is also raining, too, additionally and furthermore. The fire is ablaze and I am not setting foot outside the house. Ali has had her walk and we have repositioned her wig. She is looking good.

Unlike the other wig-wearer…

groundhogAlternet has a very good article about the old hooah.

The year is a week old and already we have a contender for the dumbest culture war moment of 2015: Sarah Palin having one of her many paranoid meltdowns, this time over a stupid photo of her son standing on a dog, which she posted on her Facebook page with a suggestion that the moment was cute and admirable. When the inevitable criticism came, she freaked out and tried to turn the whole thing into a morality play about the supposed oppression of conservative Americans that has been the theme of her entire career. In fact, it’s the central claim of the entire right-wing movement, and the engine that keeps the money flowing both to politicians and to right-wing con artists like Palin, who make a living by lying to conservatives about how they’re under attack.

Many people were understandably put off by the photograph, which confirmed a lot of suspicions that Palin can’t be bothered to teach her children the basics, like respect for animals. But she zeroed in on PETA, because it was another opportunity for her to peddle a paranoid rant about how conservatives are under attack. “Did you go as crazy when your heroic Man-of-Your-Lifetime, Barack Obama, revealed he actually enjoyed eating dead dog meat?” she whined.

The implication of the rant was obvious: That liberal concern for animal welfare is not sincere, but merely a cover for the real motivation, which is attacking conservatives because of our hateful hearts.

Everyone is still ignoring the fact that her own fans initiated the criticism. Palin could have posted a photo of Trig reaching one of his milestones. His first steps maybe?

img354

My little surfer dude at 9 months of age. At 10 months, he spotted his *hot bot* across the room and got up and walked over and picked it up! I had the wonderful fortune to be there and to witness his first steps. Dad missed it as he was at work, but was regaled with tales of that day. Apart from the momma and dadda words, surfer dude’s first word was “aw gon.” That meant he had eaten all of his mashed banana or yoghurt. He could say that long before he walked. My little surfer dude is now 24 and living in San Diego.

I recount this story with pride. My son’s first milestone was not stepping on a dog. Does Sarah Palin have any memories like this? Somehow, I doubt it. She is too busy looking up her own arse to be bothered with her kids.

More pics….

I think I was feeding him too much. He was my first child and I was on a learning curve.

img355One year later with his *hot bot.*

img356I obviously have cabin fever.  The first person to guess which person I am gets to keep Ali for a week!!!!

img357How cool is that?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Milestones

  1. meow says:

    “She is too busy looking up her own arse to be bothered with her kids.”

  2. irishgirl999 says:

    God damn you. I was waiting for a response about how marvellous my child was. 🙂

  3. irishgirl999 says:

    I saw what the cat did…how rude!

  4. 40Watt says:

    No!!!! Don’t go!!!!!! I think the little surfer dude is the best and cleverest little surfer dude I ever saw or heard of and that’s the truth. 😀

  5. MrsGunka says:

    You’re easy! I love your little surfer dude! Did he pull up his bootstraps and surf in his wading pool? Huh? Did he give you the finger? That is the cutest cat too. Can Ali surf with a wig on? 🙂 Sore ribs again from laughing. I love you guys!

  6. MrsGunka says:

    Awwwww…..love the new pictures. Glad you decided to keep blogging!

  7. irishgirl999 says:

    I am speechless. Packing Ali to Texas.

  8. irishgirl999 says:

    She doesn’t like guns.

  9. irishgirl999 says:

    And she likes turkey twice a week.

  10. irishgirl999 says:

    Can you take my mother as well?

  11. irishgirl999 says:

    Mum declined but thanks you for your offer.

  12. irishgirl999 says:

    She is otherwise inclined.

  13. Virginia says:

    Love your pics and your kid is cute. My son will be 24 at the end of this month. What kind of dog is Ali? We have a Jack Russell who could be her twin, but ours eschews wigs. And would likely chew one if given a chance.

  14. MrsGunka says:

    Wait a minute!!! I was reading and couldn’t get down her to comment in time. I already guessed 3rd from right! Compromise….you take Ali and I will take Grandma! I don’t surf, but can pop a wheely on my walker. I’m a good cook also, too. Hope she isn’t allergic to cats. The cats frown if people sit on their backs or step on their tails. Accidents happen. I have two step stools.

    • titlewave says:

      Hey! I guessed first! I just didn’t type it out fast enough! And I’ll take Ali AND Grandma! Ha! (A good cook you say? Hmm, maybe we all just meet at your house..)

      I hope Surfer kid is watching out for those King tides, I heard they were great for surfing!

      • ProfessorCanine says:

        WOOF!

        To save you both the trouble of scrolling back up the post……
        Pro-Tip:Note the time stamp please.
        ProfessorCanine says:
        January 9, 2015 at 9:48 pm
        Knock off the whiney dopey shit.
        3rd from right.

  15. titlewave says:

    You are only saved because there is no reply button on your post there Mr/Ms ProfessorCanine… 🙂

  16. ProfessorCanine says:

    “I still get Grandma.
    And Ali.”
    Au contraire,littlewave.
    I’ve already got Granny and Ali ‘cuz I won the contest.
    You got MrsG…….. Now,you two can pool your resources and come visit if you wish.

    • titlewave says:

      Your sweet smile belies your dirty dog tactics, Professor.
      🙂

    • MrsGunka says:

      Can I bring my 7 cats? I’m an hour higher than you, so I win. You can all come here and surf in the snow! We have mountains for that. We also ride snowMOBILES! And ski-doos. I’ll fix you some Rocky Mt. Oysters! Your doggy would love to snowboard! He could wee-wee all the way down the mountain! You too! 🙂 We girls are going shopping…that includes Grandma! We may get a massage and a pedicure…….

  17. Spike says:

    Ahhhhhh! What a cute little surfer dude. The first step pic is darling. Good job Mums and Dad with surfer dude and darling daughter. And of course Ali the dog.

  18. Spike says:

    I was going to ask if there are any more Irishkids. Hate to leave anybody out. Especially after I included the dog. Hi middle Irishguy. I was a middle too.

  19. psminidivapa says:

    Loved seeing the vintage IG pics. Also, too, Ali, the dog. Seems things going well in Ireland and also with “chatty” lovely – and VERY SMART- daughter. Have been suffering from extreme cold in Altoona ( -8F with -20 F wind chills, which is really, really cold in C) for days and days and days. Horrible driving days up the mountain w/snow and ice. Thinking of days in the garden w/Bloody Marys….miss you…..

Leave a Reply

