I’m Baaaack!!

abc348c2_imback Sorry everyone. I disappeared without a trace – the reason being that my cousin from Australia and her husband were coming to visit me. You may or may not know that I was born in Australia and moved to Ireland in 1974 at the age of thirteen. In 2010, I was finally able to return to Australia and met a lot of my relatives.

Anyways, in my wisdom, I decided to hold a family reunion. That meant that I had some work to do. The hall floor and a room leading from it needed to be revarnished. I got that done. Me, myself, I. Yes, I did the whole damn lot and did my back in in the process. Thankfully that has healed. Hubby has gone out on his own as regards work, and had taken over my dining room as an office (GROWL), so that had to be cleared very carefully.

Unlike Sarah Palin, I like to cook. And I don’t like to house my guests in the shed so it can be easily hosed down.

So, I did a Guinness and a full bottle of red wine Irish stew. Pulled pork, coleslaw and french bread. They liked it!!! My sister came over from England, and I handed her a recipe for some sort of apple cider vinegar thingy for the pulled pork. We were all gawking and our eyes were running from the vinegar but in the end everyone loved it.

For dessert, I made a chocolate, pear and hazelnut cake, a Bailey’s Irish cream cheesecake, a Key Lime meringue pie, a raspberry cobbler and a meringue made up of random egg whites and sugar with a load of blueberries.

The day was a resounding success and I am fecking knackered. The Key Lime pie was so sticky it stuck all over my *linen* tablecloth, and the Bailey’s cheese cake refused to be tamed. What the hell, I threw the tablecloth into the washing maching this morning.

We did run out of chairs and had to bring the garden furniture in…

Oh, and Regina’s nephew (Palingates) was also here. I hope he got home safely!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m Baaaack!!

  1. lindak1961 says:

    Sounds like a great reunion, IG.

  2. PVAZ says:

    How did you manage to prepare all those food stuffs, when you admit you can’t even cook a chuck roast. Got’cha!

    • MrsGunka says:

      That is really a good picture of her up above. Must have been after the party, eh? You can see the surgical lines from the eyebrow lift. Guess she hasn’t shaved or done her makeup yet. Everyone knows, the Guinness goes on the meat. You did tell her, right?

  3. MrsGunka says:

    I was beginning to worry! Didn’t know if a certain Leprechaun had swept you away to a ball game. What’s the rumor I heard, you forced them to eat at gunpoint? I’ve had days like that. You sure the Baileys went in the cheese cake and the vinegar went in pulled pork? I see it’s snowing again. Good thing you didn’t get snowed in the shed!

  4. Lilylake says:

    Did you remember the vegetable oil in the pie crusts? Only veggie oil will do.

  5. stillregina says:

    A very merry nephew messaged me quite late, waxing lyrical about you, your family, your food and your booze. The gun thing worked! 😜

    • 40Watt says:

      “The gun thing worked! 😜” Or did IG threaten merry nephew to wax lyrical? πŸ˜‰

      Seriously, sounds like a wonderful party. Missed you.

  6. 40Watt says:

    Now you’re back, get a load of this – http://www.iafreedomsummit.com

  7. titlewave says:

    Iowa Freedom Summit? How Important sounding. All they ever do is give speeches, when do they start freeing Iowa??
    (I guessed all the usual suspects before I even read it! Do I get a prize? πŸ™‚ )

    Welcome back to the real world IG. I hope you’ve varnished the guest room- I’m almost packed..

Leave a Reply

