Leonard Cohen

leonard-cohen

I spent my late teenage and college years listening to this man. I thought, and still do think that he will never be surpassed. He is a poet magnifique. I just caught this little bit of news before heading off into the twilight zone.

Veteran singer Leonard Cohen has vowed to celebrate turning 80 by taking up smoking again.

The Hallelujah singer, who gave up cigarettes after years of heavy smoking, celebrates the milestone birthday on Sunday (21Sept14) and will ring it in with a cigarette.

Speaking at a press event in New York City on Thursday (16Sept14), the singer told reporters, “Quite seriously, does anyone know where you can buy a Turkish or Greek cigarette? I’m looking forward to that first smoke. I’ve been thinking about that for 30 years. It’s one of the few consistent strings of thoughts I’ve been able to locate.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrLk4vdY28Q

I would desert my family for this man. I think I feel a Leonard Cohen week coming on…

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Leonard Cohen

  1. grannyj1 says:

    You will have to stand in line behind me, IG… So many times in my life his music has kept me going. He touches my soul.

    • irishgirl999 says:

      I hope I won’t have to punch you in the throat…but if push comes to shove…I could do a Bristol Palin on it. There is no way you are getting in front of me. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • MrsGunka says:

        Girls! Girls! Settle down! There may be a contingency of young ladies ahead of you so you may have to have a brawl and right hooks to get to the front! Have you ordered a Stretched Limo to drop you off at the head of the line. Shout together, “Do you know who we are?” ๐Ÿ™‚

      • irishgirl999 says:

        Sorry Mrs G. I got carried away. That is what happens to you when you look up the Guardian to get the the Scottish news, and find yourself in the middle of an article about Brigitte Bardot, Then you start reading about http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3Fa4lOQfbA. Not suitable for work. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. manxmamma says:

    He has the sexiest voice and delivery ever. And then the lyrics. I’d love to see him but I don’t think that will happen.

  3. dowhat? says:

    Justin Timberlake and Matt Morris sing a beautiful “Hallelujah”
    Charlie Sexton and Dave Preston on guitars, Jon Powers on drums.

  4. Duct Idaho Palin says:

    I never paid much attention to Hallelujah, which I had heard various times, until the 2010 Vancouver Olympics when k.d. lang sang what I can only call a gut-wrenching version of this song

    http://www.vancouver-cityofpeace.ca/2013/03/15/hallelujah-by-kd-lang-2010-olympics-opening-ceremony-youtube-video/

    There are a ton of different verses, and I’m not sure that even Leonard Cohen sang it the same way every time. I don’t know what he meant this song to mean. To me, after seeing k.d. lang’s version, it shows all the different ways people can cry out Hallelujah– in love, in despair, in hope, in supplication. This is a song that speaks to me in a different way every time I hear it.

    Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

