How To Win Friends And Influence People – Irish Style

cliff_walk_4Courtesy of GardenofIreland:

The Cliff Walk from Bray Head to Greystones is one of the most spectacular and accessible wild walks in Wicklow. The walk consists of a walled pathway that skirts the cliffs high above the railway tracks.

For fullest enjoyment of the Cliff Walk it is advisable to start in Bray and walk to Greystones, so as to have continual sunlight. In Late afternoon the shadow of Bray Head falls across most of the walkway as the cliffs are on the eastern flank of the hills.

To Greystones

South to Greystones

At leisurely pace the walk will usually take about 2 hours 30 minutes.

I went with a group of 32 people and it took us less than 2 hours. It was a lovely day and I accompanied a friend who does it on a regular basis. All was fine until the leader of the pack suggested we stop for photographs at the highest point of the walk. I don’t like heights. There was a rather low wall and I told my friend, Belinda the Protestant, that I had the greatest urge to jump, or else to push her off. We slag each other about our religion, or lack thereof. She hurried¬† away from me at that particular spot and proceeded to studiously avoid me for the rest of the walk. I was okay with that. I met another woman and we planned on how to get our 20 year olds out of the house, and clean their rooms, and generally stop them from eating us out of house and home. We thought taking them to the high spot on Bray Hill might give them some indication of the angst we felt…but decided against it. They are bigger than we are. It turned out that her second son is the same age and has the same name as my second son – and that one Saint Patrick’s Day, he threw a hot dog at her (he didn’t want ketchup in it).¬† Now this was when he was small, but she has never forgotten it, and to this day she hates Saint Patrick’s Day.

By the time we got to Greystones, I was hungry, and Belinda the Protestant, had forgiven me for wanting to fire her off the cliffs and into the sea. She has the heartiest laugh of anyone I know.

We went into a lovely little restaurant/coffee shop for coffee!!! I also and too had French toast with berries and cream. Belinda the Protestant, had carrot cake. I don’t know what bearing that has on anything.

summerThis was the place! It wasn’t as sunny as this, but it was quite mild, and we sat out in the back where I was able to have a smoke after my 8km healthy walk. ;)

I just wanted to add that I didn’t take these photos. I nabbed them from the web.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to How To Win Friends And Influence People – Irish Style

  1. grannyj1 says:

    I love the way you tell a story… : ) What does Belinda the Protestant call you?

    • irishgirl999 says:

      Helen the Catholic!.(She doesn’t really) . I made that shit up.
      I willl give you the recipe also. Thumbs up!

      • irishgirl999 says:

        It doesn’t hurt to embellish a story!!! I’m not into Irish religious politics (I was at one stage) and I know that Belinda the Protestant would love this. The only bit I embellished is that I call her Belinda the Protestant on a regular basis.I only did it once and she laughed her hearty laugh.
        I did threaten to jump!!! She ran…
        We may go for another walk next weeek!

  2. irishgirl999 says:

    Having released my darkest thoughts….there is silence, apart from Regina. Thank you Regina, that was a tenner well spent. :)
    The rest of you can feck off if you think I am getting up in the morning to give you my fabulous Guinness Irish Stew recipe. I will post it to Regina on the quiet..

  3. Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you. “When Irish eyes are smiling, sure ’tis like a morn in Spring . . . . “

Leave a Reply

